Aglaja Veteranyi in the SLA

Aglaja Veteranyi
© Ayse Yavas

Aglaja Veteranyi (1962–2002) was born into a family of circus performers in Bucharest and appeared in the circus ring from a very young age. The family fled to Switzerland in 1967, but travelled extensively through Europe, Africa and South America in the subsequent years. 

After returning to Switzerland in 1978, Veteranyi taught herself to read and write German before training at Zurich’s Schauspiel-Gemeinschaft drama school between 1979 and 1982. She set up two experimental performance groups: “Die Wortpumpe” with René Oberholzer (between 1993 and 1996) and “Die Engelmaschine” with Jens Nielsen (between 1996 and 2002). In addition, she published short prose works in anthologies, magazines and newspapers. Her autobiographical debut novel “Warum das Kind in der Polenta kocht” (“Why the Child is Cooking in the Polenta”, 2001) was published in 1999 and earned her international acclaim. Sadly, she took her own life in Zurich in February 2002. The novel “Das Regal der letzten Atemzüge” (2002) and the volume of short prose works “Vom geräumten Meer, den gemieteten Socken und Frau Butter” (2004) were published posthumously. They were followed more recently by two volumes containing her unpublished material and notes that she left behind: “Café Papa” (2018) and “Wörter statt Möbel” (2018).

Veteranyi’s extensive estate is testament to her diverse work. It contains manuscripts and draft texts and plays, as well as unusual pieces such as a wedding dress covered in writing, which Veteranyi used at a performance in Zurich in summer 2001. There is also a large collection of literary notebooks, in which she developed ideas and wrote about her own works. And she left her mark in other places, too: for example, Jörg Steiner’s estate contains cards from Veteranyi in which she imaginatively combines words and images.   

Last modification 06.04.2022

Top of page

Contact

Swiss National Library
Swiss Literary Archives
Joanna Nowotny
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.nb.admin.ch/content/snl/en/home/ueber-uns/sla/nachlaesse-archive/fokus/veteranyi.html

Aglaja Veteranyi im SLA

Aglaja Veteranyi
© Ayse Yavas

Aglaja Veteranyi (1962–2002) wurde in Bukarest in eine Zirkusfamilie geboren und trat bereits als Kind in der Manege auf. 1967 flüchtete die Familie in die Schweiz, unternahm in den folgenden Jahren aber lange Reisen durch Europa, nach Afrika und Südamerika. 

Nach der Rückkehr 1978 begann Veteranyi mit autodidaktischen Studien und liess sich von 1979 bis 1982 an der Schauspiel-Gemeinschaft Zürich ausbilden. Sie gründete zwei Performance-Ensembles, «Die Wortpumpe» mit René Oberholzer (1993–1996) und «Die Engelmaschine» mit Jens Nielsen (1996–2002). Daneben veröffentlichte sie Kurzprosa in Anthologien, Zeitschriften und Zeitungen. 1999 erschien ihr autofiktionaler Debütroman «Warum das Kind in der Polenta kocht», mit dem sie internationale Bekanntheit erlangte. Im Februar 2002 nahm sie sich in Zürich das Leben. Der Roman «Das Regal der letzten Atemzüge» (2002) und der Kurzprosaband «Vom geräumten Meer, den gemieteten Socken und Frau Butter» (2004) konnten erst postum erscheinen. Dazu kamen in den letzten Jahren die zwei Bände «Café Papa» (2018) und «Wörter statt Möbel» (2018), die nachgelassenes Material versammeln.

Veteranyis umfangreicher Nachlass dokumentiert ihr vielseitiges Werk: Er beinhaltet Manuskripte und Vorstufen von Texten und Stücken sowie Besonderheiten wie ein beschriftetes Hochzeitskleid, das Veteranyi bei einem Auftritt in Zürich im Sommer 2001 verwendete. Dazu kommt eine grosse Sammlung literarischer Notizbücher, in denen sie Ideen entwickelte und sich Rechenschaft über ihr Schreiben ablegte. Und auch anderswo hat sie Spuren hinterlassen: In Jörg Steiners Nachlass etwa finden sich fantasievoll gestaltete Karten, in denen Veteranyi Sprache und Bild verknüpft.

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 06.04.2022

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek
Schweiz. Literaturarchiv SLA
Joanna Nowotny
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nb.admin.ch/content/snl/de/home/ueber-uns/sla/nachlaesse-archive/fokus/veteranyi.html