Eveline Hasler in the SLA

Eveline Hasler (b. 1933 in Glarus) lives with her husband in Ronco. Her work is characterised by a combination of precise historical research and psychologically developed characters. Her historical novels re-examine chapters from Swiss and European history.

Eveline Hasler laughing, leaning her head on her right hand.
Portrait of Eveline Hasler
© Peter Friedli, 1980s

After great success with her books for children, Hasler began writing literature for adults. Anna Göldin – Letzte Hexe (1982) tells the story of Europe’s last witch trial, Ibicaba oder das Paradies in den Köpfen (1985) deals with Swiss emigrants, while Der Riese im Baum (1988) paints a portrait of a giant from Glarus. Die Wachsflügelfrau (1995) recounts the tragic fate of Switzerland’s first female lawyer, and Der Zeitreisende (1994) revisits the misunderstood and neglected figure of Henry Dunant. Other novels deal with the writer Regina Ullmann and the psychiatrist Otto Gross (2007), the initiative to rescue artists and intellectuals in danger during the time of the Nazi regime (2013), the Manns and the Schwarzenbachs in the context of Zurich’s Schauspielhaus (2015), and the Communist Mentona Moser (2019).

Eveline Hasler’s writing process begins with detailed research in archive sources. But what gives her novels their sense of immediacy is the psychological interpretation of the characters and the pervasive, implicit insight that history is reflected in one’s own present. She has always lent her voice to outsiders – people who, with their visions and lifestyles, were far ahead of their time and were ostracised for that reason.

Hasler has received numerous awards and honours, including the Droste Prize from the city of Meersburg, the City of St. Gallen Culture Award and an honorary doctorate from the University of Bern.

Last modification 16.12.2020

Top of page

Contact

Swiss National Library
Swiss Literary Archives SLA
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Phone +41 58 462 92 58
Fax +41 58 462 84 08
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.nb.admin.ch/content/snl/en/home/ueber-uns/sla/nachlaesse-archive/fokus/hasler.html

Eveline Hasler im SLA

Eveline Hasler (*1933 in Glarus), lebt mit ihrem Mann in Ronco. Ihr Werk ist geprägt von der Verbindung präziser historischer Recherchen mit psychologischer Ausformung ihrer Figuren. In ihren historischen Romanen ist die Aufarbeitung von Kapiteln der Schweizer wie der europäischen Geschichte durchgängiges Thema.

Eveline Hasler lachend, Kopf auf rechte Hand abgestützt.
Porträt Eveline Hasler
© Peter Friedli, 1980er-Jahre

Nach grossen Erfolgen mit Kinderbüchern wandte sich Hasler der Literatur für Erwachsene zu. Anna Göldin – Letzte Hexe (1982) berichtet über den letzten Hexenprozess in Europa, Ibicaba oder das Paradies in den Köpfen (1985) greift das Kapitel der Schweizer Auswanderer auf, und in Der Riese im Baum (1988) zeichnet sie ein Porträt des Riesen aus dem Glarnerland. Das tragische Schicksal der ersten Juristin der Schweiz führt sie in Die Wachsflügelfrau (1995) aus, und Der Zeitreisende (1994) holt den verkannten Henry Dunant aus der Vergessenheit hervor. In weiteren Romanen beschäftigt sie sich mit der Schriftstellerin Regina Ullmann und dem Psychiater Otto Gross (2007), der Rettungsaktion gefährdeter Künstler und Intellektueller zur Zeit des Nazi-Regimes (2013), den Manns und Schwarzenbachs im Kontext des Zürcher Schauspielhauses (2015) sowie der Kommunistin Mentona Moser (2019).

Eingehendes Quellenstudium in Archiven steht am Anfang von Eveline Haslers Schreibarbeit. Die Nähe zur Gegenwart beziehen ihre Romane aber aus der psychologischen Ausdeutung der Charaktere und der immer wieder implizit geäusserten Einsicht, dass sich Geschichte in der eigenen Gegenwart spiegelt. Die Autorin hat ihre Stimme stets Aussenseitern geliehen, Figuren, die ihrer Zeit mit ihren Visionen und ihrer Lebensführung weit voraus waren und aus diesem Grund geächtet wurden.

Hasler hat zahlreiche Preise  und Ehrungen erhalten, u.a. den Droste-Preis der Stadt Meersburg, den Kulturpreis der Stadt St. Gallen und die  Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Bern.

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 16.12.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek
Schweiz. Literaturarchiv SLA
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Telefon +41 58 462 92 58
Fax +41 58 462 84 08
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nb.admin.ch/content/snl/de/home/ueber-uns/sla/nachlaesse-archive/fokus/hasler.html