History of the PDD

Ever since it was founded, the Swiss National Library (NL) has explicitly set out to collect not just books but also image documents such as prints, posters, editions, artists’ books, photographs and picture postcards – all of which are now held by the Prints and Drawings Department (PDD). Since 2007 they have been complemented by the collections of the Federal Archives of Historic Monuments.

1895: start of the Helvetica collection

Ever since it was founded in its present form in 1895, the National Library’s mandate has been to collect “Helvetica”. From the outset, that has been understood to mean not just books and other publications but also image documents – a policy that reflects the origins of collections and their diversity in the European collecting tradition.

1895 – 1945: the picture collection takes shape

Sammelbild der Graphischen Sammlung
Collections of the Prints and Drawings Department
© NL, Simon Schmid

The part of the collection that makes up today’s Prints and Drawings Department began life as a picture collection. It consisted of iconographic, graphic and photographic image documents on the geography, history, politics, customs, culture and people of Switzerland. The NL has always collected artistic works by well-known Swiss artists too, with a particular focus on editions and artists’ books.

An agreement with the Swiss Photographers’ Association in 1917 led to the creation of Switzerland’s first official photo collection at the NL. As it entered its 50th year, the NL had already collected a broad spectrum of image media comprising prints, Schweizer Kleinmeister Helvetica, posters, picture postcards, photographs, editions and artists’ books.


1945 – 1989: the “Older Fonds” department

The collection forming the basis of today’s Prints and Drawings Department was further expanded in the decades that followed, particularly in the areas of photography and graphic Swiss Helvetica.

In the 1980s Annemarie Gugelmann transferred to the NL the collection of Schweizer Kleinmeister that she and her brother Rudolf had accumulated over four decades. Following this unprecedented gift the NL hired its first art historian, whose work mainly focused on this part of the collection.

Until 1991 the picture collection was administered along with the manuscript estates and other special collections of the NL in the “Older Fonds, Manuscripts and Special Collections” department. In 1991 however, the literary archives and estates were transferred to the newly created Swiss Literary Archives.

1990 – today: towards a Prints and Drawings Department

In 1990 the NL’s picture collection was renamed the “Prints and Drawings Collection”.

From the mid-1990s onwards it collected important artists’ archives, such as those of Daniel Spoerri, Karl Gerstner, Johannes Gachnang, Serge and Doris Stauffer, Ulrich Meister, Andreas Züst, Niklaus Stauss and Claude Kuhn.

In 2006 the Prints and Drawings Collection became a department in its own right and in 2007 the holdings of the Federal Archives of Historic Monuments (FAHM) were transferred to what was now the PDD, substantially increasing its scope.


1897 – today: Federal Archives of Historic Monuments

The creation of the Federal Archives of Historic Monuments (FAHM) dates back to the «Federal Decree on Federal Participation in Efforts to Preserve and Acquire National Antiquities» of 30 June 1886. It instructed the board of what was then the «Society for the Preservation of Historic Art Monuments» – now the Society for Art History in Switzerland – to form a commission of experts: the Federal Commission for Monument Preservation (FCMP). The commission’s members were responsible for distributing subsidies and for overseeing operations to restore buildings and artworks as well as excavations. In carrying out their mandate, these experts and the individuals and enterprises acting on their instructions produced documents that were handed over and described in inventory books (entry books) in the order in which they were received. 

The first mention of this collection of documents as the «Archive of Historic Art Monuments» is recorded in 1897. In 1919 this archive was split off from the society and integrated in its entirety into the National Museum. It was renamed the Federal Archives of Historic Monuments in 1964. Deliveries of archive-worthy documents on subsidised activities to the FAHM continued into the 1990s; thereafter, by agreement between the Heritage Protection and Historic Monument Preservation Section of the Federal Office of Culture and the cantonal offices of historic monument preservation and archaeology, the cantons assumed full responsibility for archiving. Between 1908 and 1969, the FAHM also acquired on deposit a variety of items drawn from historic monument preservation and archaeology. Over time, through gifts and acquisitions, the FAHM also received various archives of historic monuments preservation experts, collections, documentation and inventories on the topics of architectural and art history, protection of built heritage and landscapes, as well as the private archives of individual photographers and picture postcard publishers. 

Until 1964, the FAHM were administered and managed by the Swiss National Museum in Zurich. They were then placed under the auspices of the FCMP secretariat until 1975, when both were attached to what is now the Federal Office of Culture (FOC) and transferred to Bern. Between 1976 and 2001, the archives had to move to new locations in the Bern region on a number of occasions, which was not good for the order and condition of the archival materials. Since 2001 the FAHM have been housed in the Swiss National Library (NL) building in Bern. In 2007 the archives were separated off organisationally from the Heritage Protection and Historic Monument Preservation Section and integrated into the Prints and Drawings Department of the NL. From an archival perspective, the FAHM are operated as a separate sub-department and are an ideal complement to the holdings of the Prints and Drawings Department.

Last modification 24.08.2020

Top of page

Contact

Swiss National Library
Prints and Drawings Department
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Phone +41 58 462 89 71
E-mail

Print contact

Opening hours

by appointment

https://www.nb.admin.ch/content/snl/en/home/ueber-uns/gs/geschichte.html

Geschichte der GS

Die Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek (NB) sammelt seit ihrer Gründung nicht nur Bücher, sondern explizit Bilddokumente wie Druckgrafiken, Plakate, Editionen, Künstlerbücher, Fotografien und Ansichtskarten – die Bestände der heutigen Graphischen Sammlung (GS). Seit 2007 werden diese von den Sammlungen des Eidgenössischen Archivs für Denkmalpflege ergänzt.

1895: Beginn der Helvetica-Sammlung

Die Nationalbibliothek (früher Schweizerische Landesbibliothek) ist seit 1895 damit beauftragt «Helvetica» zu sammeln. Seit ihrer Gründung sammelt sie nicht nur Bücher und andere Publikationen, sondern auch Bilddokumente. Diese Sammlungspolitik entspringt der Rückbesinnung auf die Ursprünge von Sammlungen und deren Vielfalt in der europäischen Sammlungstradition.

1895 – 1945: Aufbau der Bildersammlung

Sammelbild der Graphischen Sammlung
Sammelbild der Graphischen Sammlung
© NB, Simon Schmid

Der Sammelteil, der heute «Graphische Sammlung» heisst, entstand als sogenannte Bildersammlung. Er setzte sich zusammen aus ikonografischen, grafischen und auch fotografischen Bilddokumenten zu Geografie, Geschichte, Politik, Brauchtum, Kultur und Persönlichkeiten der Schweiz. Auch künstlerische Werke von namhaften Schweizer Kunstschaffenden, insbesondere im Bereich Editionen und Künstlerbücher, wurden seit Beginn in der NB gesammelt.

Aufgrund einer Vereinbarung mit dem Schweizerischen Fotografenverband entstand in der NB 1917 die erste offizielle Fotosammlung der Schweiz. Bis zu ihrem 50-jährigen Jubiläum hatte die NB ein weites Spektrum an Bildmedien mit Druckgrafiken, Schweizer Kleinmeister-Helvetica, Plakaten, Ansichtskarten, Fotografien, Editionen und Künstlerbüchern angesammelt.


1945 – 1989: Abteilung Ältere Bestände

Der Grundstock der heutigen «Graphischen Sammlung», insbesondere der Bereich Fotografie und Schweizer Helvetica-Grafik, wurde in den folgenden Jahrzehnten weiter ausgebaut.

In den 1980er-Jahren übergab Annemarie Gugelmann der NB ihre Sammlung an «Schweizer Kleinmeistern», welche sie zusammen mit ihrem Bruder Rudolf während vier Jahrzehnten aufgebaut hatte. Ausgelöst durch diese beispiellose Schenkung engagierte die NB erstmals eine Kunsthistorikerin, die sich insbesondere diesem Sammelteil widmete.

Bis 1991 verwaltete man die Bildbestände zusammen mit den Handschriften-Nachlässen und übrigen Spezialsammlungen der NB in der Abteilung «Ältere Bestände, Handschriften, Spezialsammlungen». Seit der Gründung des Schweizerischen Literaturarchivs 1991 wurden die literarischen Archive und Nachlässe jedoch dort betreut.

1990 – heute: Die Graphische Sammlung

Die Bildersammlung der NB erhielt 1990 die Bezeichnung «Graphische Sammlung».

Ab Mitte der 1990er Jahre sammelte die GS bedeutende Künstlerarchive, wie beispielsweise diejenigen von Daniel Spoerri, Karl Gerstner, Johannes Gachnang, Serge und Doris Stauffer, Ulrich Meister, Andreas Züst, Niklaus Stauss und Claude Kuhn.

2006 wurde die Graphische Sammlung eine eigenständige Abteilung, 2007 gelangten die Bestände des Eidgenössischen Archivs für Denkmalpflege (EAD) in die Graphische Sammlung. Damit wuchs der Umfang der Bestände der GS um ein Mehrfaches an.


1897 – heute: Eidgenössisches Archiv für Denkmalpflege

Die Entstehung des Eidgenössischen Archivs für Denkmalpflege (EAD) geht zurück auf den «Bundesbeschluss betreffend die Betheiligung des Bundes an den Bestrebungen zur Erhaltung und Erwerbung vaterländischer Alterthümer» vom 30. Juni 1886. Darin wurde der Vorstand der damaligen «Gesellschaft für Erhaltung historischer Kunstdenkmäler» – heute Gesellschaft für Schweizerische Kunstgeschichte – beauftragt, eine Expertenkommission zu bilden: Die Eidgenössische Kommission für Denkmalpflege (EKD). Die Exponenten dieser Kommission waren verantwortlich für die Verteilung der Subventionen sowie für die operative Begleitung und Überwachung der Restaurierungen von Bau- und Kunstwerken sowie von Grabungen. Bei der Erfüllung ihrer Aufgabe produzierten diese Experten und die von ihnen beauftragten Personen und Unternehmungen Dokumente, die abgeliefert und nach der Reihenfolge ihres Eingangs in Inventarbüchern (Eingangsbüchern) verzeichnet wurden. 

Die erste Erwähnung dieser Dokumentensammlung als «Archiv für historische Kunstdenkmäler» (AHK) ist 1897 aktenkundig. 1919 wurde das AHK von der Gesellschaft losgelöst und vollständig ins Landesmuseum integriert. 1964 erfolgte die Umbenennung in «Eidgenössisches Archiv für Denkmalpflege». Die Ablieferungen der archivwürdigen Unterlagen von Subventionsgeschäften an das EAD blieb bis in die 1990er Jahre bestehen; danach wurde gemäss Absprache der Sektion Heimatschutz und Denkmalpflege des Bundesamtes für Kultur mit den kantonalen Fachstellen für Denkmalpflege und Archäologie die Archivierung vollumfänglich durch die Kantone übernommen. Nebst den Unterlagen von Subventionsgeschäften hat das EAD im Zeitraum zwischen 1908 und 1969 auch Depositen übernommen, die ebenfalls aus Denkmalpflege und Archäologie stammen. Zudem erhielt das EAD durch Schenkungen oder Erwerbungen im Laufe der Zeit Zuwachs durch verschiedene Archive von Denkmalpflegeexperten, Sammlungen, Dokumentationen und Inventare aus den Themenbereichen Architektur- und Kunstgeschichte, Orts- und Landschaftsschutz sowie durch Privatarchive von einzelnen Fotografen und von Ansichtskartenverlagen. 

Das EAD wurde bis 1964 vom Schweizerischen Landesmuseum in Zürich verwaltet und betreut. Danach wurde es dem Sekretariat der EKD unterstellt, bis beide im Jahre 1975 dem heutigen Bundesamt für Kultur (BAK) angeschlossen und nach Bern umgesiedelt wurden. Zwischen 1976 und 2001 musste das Archiv in der Region Bern verschiedentlich den Standort wechseln. Die zahlreichen Umzüge waren für die Ordnung und den Zustand der Archivalien nicht vorteilhaft. Seit 2001 ist das EAD im Gebäude der Schweizerischen Nationalbibliothek (NB) in Bern untergebracht. 2007 wurde das Archiv organisatorisch von der Sektion Heimatschutz und Denkmalpflege losgelöst und in die Graphische Sammlung der NB integriert. Archivtechnisch wird das EAD als eigene Unterabteilung geführt und ergänzt die Bestände der Graphischen Sammlung in idealer Weise.

Letzte Änderung 24.08.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek
Graphische Sammlung
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Telefon +41 58 462 89 71
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

Öffnungszeiten

auf Anmeldung

https://www.nb.admin.ch/content/snl/de/home/ueber-uns/gs/geschichte.html