Mina Hofstetter – farmer and feminist

Pioneer of animal-free agriculture and organic farming, Mina Hofstetter-Lehner was interested in issues relating to food production and diet, but also championed causes such as emancipation and economic reform.  

“I was not even three years old when I was given meat broth to eat for Sunday lunch – probably for the first time in my life. I tasted it, put my spoon down, and refused to eat any more. My father tried to force me but didn’t manage, and that’s when I got my first ever beating. I can still feel it today. If I hadn’t been afraid of more beatings, I would probably never have eaten meat.” 

The black and white photo shows two women working in the fields, with a lake and open countryside in the background. The older woman on the left of the photo is bending forward and vigorously hoeing. The woman on the right appears to have just completed her movement and is standing up straight holding a hoe. Both women are fully focused on the task at hand.
Mina Hofstetter (left) at work with her daughter; photo taken in the 1930s
© Archives of rural history (ARH)

These are the words of vegetarian and animal-free agriculture pioneer Mina Hofstetter-Lehner (1883-1967) as she recalls a formative experience from her childhood. Two stances that would shape her later life can be traced back to this: an aversion to eating meat and to basic power structures. This experience gave rise to three specific questions that would preoccupy her throughout her life: Why are we sick? Why do most people have to work their whole lives but remain poor? Why is there something ineffable between men and women that is tainted?

Animal-free agriculture

Hofstetter loved living in the countryside and was happiest when working in the fields. However, she had a terrible fear of cows and hated the smell of the stalls so much that she refused to marry a farmer because she said they smelled of them, too. She loved sowing and was devoted to ensuring her plants thrived. In her parents’ garden, only her grandmother had allowed her to sow. But after she acquired her own farm (“Stuhlen”) on the shores of Lake Greifen, she pursued alternative, complex, but animal-free farming methods and published her findings. 

Vegetarianism, the outdoors and emancipation

Hofstetter was always a slightly sickly woman, but switching to a raw vegetarian diet significantly improved her health and wellbeing. During the 1920s, she broadened her interest in the Lebensreform movement through reading and personal connections. In particular, she developed a close friendship with the vegetarian, teetotaller and free money theorist, Werner Zimmermann. In his 1922 paper “The liberation of women”, Zimmermann advocated women’s suffrage and a “wage for mothers” that would be financed by allocating ground rents to the public good. He believed that women should no longer have to depend on their husbands and have to “constantly beg and plead for housekeeping money”. Rather, he argued, “all workers should be entitled to the full proceeds of labour – including housewives.”    Hofstetter was a grateful proponent of this idea since she too had had to negotiate with her husband “field by field” because initially he did not believe in her cultivation methods. However, they soon agreed on a distribution of labour on the farm, where he ran a carpentry workshop in a barn with one of their sons, while she, their other son, and their visitors ran the farm. 

Courses, talks and personal connections

Hofstetter relished this freedom. She used the farm for practical courses and talks to impart her cultivation methods. Her guests also included high-profile figures from the Lebensreform and women’s rights movements. Maximillian Bircher-Benner, engineer Konrad von Meyenburg,  Viennese writer Anna Helene Askanasy, and Swedish feminist Elin Wägner all visited Stuhlen farm to work and share ideas with Hofstetter. She herself presented the results of her work at the Swiss Exhibition for Women’s Work in 1928, and gave a talk on “Women–Earth–Peace” at the conference of the Women’s Organisation for World Order in Bratislava in 1937.

Despite these international connections and diverse interests, Mina Hofstetter was never involved in a political organisation on a long-term basis, instead exemplifying her convictions on animal-free agriculture and gender equality to an interested community on her farm.

Bibliography and sources

Last modification 15.07.2021

Top of page

Contact

Swiss National Library
SwissInfoDesk
Information Retrieval Service
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Phone +41 58 462 89 35
Fax +41 58 462 84 08
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.nb.admin.ch/content/snl/en/home/recherche/r-monat/hofstetter-mina.html

Mina Hofstetter – Landwirtin und Feministin

Die Pionierin der viehlosen Landwirtschaft und des biologischen Anbaus Mina Hofstetter-Lehner interessierte sich für Fragen der Produktion und der Ernährung, verfolgte aber auch Themen wie Emanzipation und Wirtschaftsreform. 

«Ich war noch nicht drei Jahre alt. An einem Sonntag sollte ich zum Mittagessen, wohl zum erstenmal in meinem Leben, Fleischsuppe essen. Ich kostete, legte den Löffel weg und weigerte mich. Mein Vater wollte mich zwingen, brachte es nicht fertig, und so erhielt ich die ersten Prügel in meinem Leben; ich spüre sie heute noch. Hätte ich nicht Angst vor noch mehr Prügeln gehabt, so hätte ich vielleicht nie Fleisch gegessen.»

Das Bild in Schwarzweiss zeigt zwei Frauen bei der Feldarbeit, im Hintergund einen See und weite Landschaft. Die ältere Frau links im Bild ist nach vorne gebeugt und führt mit Kraft eine Hacke zu Boden. Die rechts im Bild sehende jüngere Frau scheint die Bewegung gerade abgeschlossen zu haben und steht aufrecht mit der Hacke in der Hand. Beide Frauen sind konzentriert in die Feldarbeit vertieft.
Mina Hofstetter (links) mit Tochter bei der Arbeit, Entstehungszeitraum: 1930er Jahre
© Archiv für Agrargeschichte (AfA)

Mit diesen Worten erinnert sich die Vegetarierin und Pionierin der viehlosen Landwirtschaft Mina Hofstetter-Lehner (1883-1967) an eine prägende Erfahrung in ihrer Kindheit. Darin wurzeln zwei Einstellungen, die für ihren späteren Lebenslauf prägend sein sollten: Abscheu vor Fleischkonsum und vor rohen Machtverhältnissen. Später kristallisierten sich aus dieser Erfahrung drei konkrete Fragen heraus, die sie fortan begleiteten: «Warum sind wir krank? Warum müssen die meisten Menschen ihr ganzes Leben lang arbeiten und bleiben arm? Warum ist zwischen Mann und Weib ein Unaussprechliches, das in den Schmutz gezogen wird?».

Viehlose Landwirtschaft

Hofstetter liebte das Leben auf dem Land und fühlte sich besonders bei der Arbeit auf dem Feld wohl. Sie hatte jedoch eine Höllenangst vor Kühen und verachtete den Geruch des Stalls so sehr, dass sie keinen Bauern heiraten mochte, weil diese Männer eben auch nach Stall rochen. Sie liebte es zu säen und sich aufopfernd um das Gedeihen der Pflanzen zu kümmern. Während ihr das Säen im elterlichen Garten nur von der Grossmutter erlaubt worden war, ging sie auf dem eigenen Hof «Stuhlen» am Greifensee alternativen, aufwändigen aber viehlosen Anbaumethoden von Getreide nach und publizierte ihre Ergebnisse.

Vegetarismus, Freiland und Emanzipation

Ihr Wohlbefinden konnte die stets etwas kränkliche Frau mit einer Ernährungsumstellung auf vegetarische Rohkost erheblich verbessern. Durch Lektüre und persönliche Kontakte weitete Hofstetter in den 1920er Jahren ihr Interesse für die Lebensreformbewegung aus. Besonders mit dem Vegetarier, Abstinenten und Freigeldtheoretiker Werner Zimmermann verband sie eine enge Freundschaft. Zimmermann plädierte 1922 in seiner Schrift «Die Befreiung der Frau» für das Frauenstimmrecht und einen «Mutterlohn», der sich durch die Umlegung der Bodenrente auf die Allgemeinheit finanzieren sollte: die Frau solle sich nicht mehr durch «ewiges Bitten und Betteln von Haushaltsgeld» vom Gatten abhängig machen müssen. Vielmehr stehe «jedem Arbeitenden – auch der Hausfrau – der volle Arbeitsertrag» zu. Diese Idee nahm Hofstetter dankbar auf. Auch sie musste ihrem Gatten «Acker um Acker» abhandeln, weil er anfänglich nicht an den Erfolg ihrer Ackerbaumethoden geglaubt hatte. Bald einigten sie sich aber auf eine Arbeitsteilung auf dem Hof, bei welcher der Mann in der Scheune zusammen mit einem Sohn eine Schreinerei unterhielt und die Frau mit dem andren Sohn und den Gästen des Hofes die Landwirtschaft betrieb. 

Kurse, Vorträge und persönliche Kontakte

Diese Freiheit schätze Hofstetter sehr. Sie nutzte den Hof für praktische Kurse und Vorträge, um ihre Anbaumethoden zu vermitteln. Zu ihren Gästen zählten auch viele Prominente aus der Lebensreform- und der Frauenrechtsbewegung. Maximillian Bircher-Benner, der Ingenieur Konrad von Meyenburg sowie die Wiener Schriftstellerin Anna Helene Askanasy und die schwedische Feministin Elin Wägner besuchten den Hof Stuhlen, um bei Hofstetter zu arbeiten und zu diskutieren. Hofstetter selbst präsentierte die Resultate ihrer Arbeiten an der Schweizerischen Ausstellung für Frauenarbeit SAFFA 1928 und hielt an einer Konferenz der «Women’s Organisation for World Order» 1937 in Bratislava einen Vortrag zum Thema «Weib–Erde–Frieden».

Trotz dieser internationalen Beziehungen und vielseitigen Interessen hat sich Hofstetter nie dauerhaft in einer politischen Organisation engagiert, sondern hat ihre Überzeugungen von der viehlosen Landwirtschaft und dem gleichberechtigten Leben konkret auf ihrem Hof einer interessierten Gemeinschaft vorgelebt.

Literatur und Quellen

Letzte Änderung 15.07.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek
SwissInfoDesk
Publikumsinformation
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Telefon +41 58 462 89 35
Fax +41 58 462 84 08
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nb.admin.ch/content/snl/de/home/recherche/r-monat/hofstetter-mina.html