Descriptive cataloguing

Descriptive cataloguing provides access points for the documents in the Swiss National Library (NL) so that they can be accessed in the online catalogue Helveticat.

The bibliographic description allows each document in the NL to be clearly identified. It is carried out according to the international RDA (Resource Description & Access) standard using the international format MARC 21. Name authority data are linked to the German Integrated Authority File (Gemeinsame Normdatei, GND). These data are checked for each bibliographic record.

RDA NL Supplementary Rules

Since October 2016, descriptive cataloguing at the NL has been carried out in accordance with the RDA (Resource Description & Access) standard and the corresponding D-A-CH AWR (Application Guidelines for German-speaking Regions).

In order to take account of some specific Swiss characteristics, e.g. multilingualism, the NL has defined additional rules in its RDA NL Supplementary Rules.

The standardised access points for persons, corporate bodies and congresses are linked to the GND (Integrated Authority File).

The standardised access points in Helveticat, the NL’s catalogue, are only being updated to correspond to RDA standards if they are actually used again; otherwise the records remain unchanged and correspond to previous cataloguing rules (AACR, VSB).

MARC 21 German-language manual

The MARC 21 (MAchine Readable Cataloging) format is the result of harmonising two formats from 1999: USMARC and CAN/MARC. MARC 21 consists of the following formats:

  • Format for Bibliographic Data
  • Format for Authority Data
  • Format for Holdings Data
  • Format for Classification Data
  • Format for Community Information

MARC 21 was published in English by the Library of Congress and the Library and Archives Canada. An official version in French is also published in Canada.

Content and scope

The National Library’s web edition of MARC 21 contains the following formats:

  • Format for Bibliographic Data
  • Format for Authority Data

Particular features

The current edition contains the fields used by the NL. The indicators, subfield codes and coded values that are not used by the NL are shown in italics in the fields concerned. A list of the subfield codes used at the NL, shown in bold, can normally be found at the start of the description of a field. The “Input Conventions” and “Content Designator History” sections at the end of the field description in the original version are not included in the German translation.

Current status of updating the MARC 21 German-language manual

Updates 1(2000) – 26 (2018) have been added to the base version. Only the fields used at the NL are listed in the current version.

Language rules

For ease of use, the masculine form is generally used in the current version of the MARC 21 manual. All terms referring to people therefore apply equally to both men and women.

Cataloguing of electronic publications

The bibliographic data of the electronic publications are transmitted by the suppliers and automatically included in the online catalogue Helveticat. The «standardized search entries» (normierte Sucheinstiege) are processed manually. All records obtain a link to e-Helvetica Access, the gateway to the digital library of the Swiss National Library (NL). All content can be found by full text search.

Open access to certain content is restricted due to copyright reasons. These documents can be consulted in the public rooms within the NL. Information about the access status appear in the search results on e-Helvetica Access.

 

SLB-METS, Version 2.6, 18th December 2019 (in German) (PDF, 770 kB, 18.12.2019)The NL’s internal data format is based on the structure of the METS standard (Metadata Encoding & Transmission Standard, Version 1.3.)

Last modification 23.04.2020

Top of page

Contact

Swiss National Library
Cataloguing
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern
Switzerland
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.nb.admin.ch/content/snl/en/home/fachinformationen/erschliessen/formalerschliessung.html

Formalerschliessung

Dank der Formalerschliessung oder alphabetischen Katalogisierung können Sie über den Online-Katalog Helveticat auf die Medien der Schweizerischen Nationalbibliothek (NB) zugreifen.

Anhand der bibliografischen Beschreibung können die Dokumente der NB eindeutig identifiziert werden. Sie erfolgt nach dem internationalen Standard RDA, Ressource, Description & Access und im internationalen Format MARC21. Die Zugriffspunkte/Normdaten von Urhebern werden mit der Gemeinsamen Normdatei (GND) verlinkt und in jedem bibliografischen Datensatz kontrolliert.

RDA NB Zusatzregelungen

Die Formalerschliessung der Schweizerischen Nationalbibliothek erfolgt seit Oktober 2016 gemäss den RDA (Ressource, Description & Access) und den zugehörigen D-A-CH AWR (Anwendungsrichtlinien für den deutschsprachigen Raum).

Um schweizerische Besonderheiten zu berücksichtigen, hat die NB für einzelne Themen wie z. B. die Mehrsprachigkeit mit den RDA NB Zusatzregelungen weitere Richtlinien festgelegt.

Die normierten Sucheinstiege für Personen, Körperschaften und Kongresse werden mit der GND (Gemeinsamen Normdatei) verlinkt.

Rückwirkend werden in Helveticat, dem Katalog der NB, die normierten Sucheinstiege nur nach der RDA-Norm umgearbeitet, wenn sie erneut genutzt werden. Ansonsten bleiben die Aufnahmen unverändert gemäss den früheren Katalogisierungsregeln (AACR2, VSB) bestehen.

MARC21 Handbuch in deutscher Sprache

MARC21 (MAchine Readable Cataloging) ist der Name der beiden 1999 zusammengeführten Formate USMARC und CAN/MARC. MARC21 setzt sich wie folgt zusammen:

  • Format für bibliografische Daten
  • Format für Autoritätsdaten
  • Format für Bestandsdaten
  • Format für Klassifikationsdaten
  • Format für Bürgerinformation

Die englischsprachige Originalausgabe von MARC21 wird von der Library of Congress und von Library and Archives Canada/Bibliothèque et Archives Canada herausgegeben. Gleichzeitig erscheint in Kanada eine offizielle französischsprachige Ausgabe.

Inhalt

Die Online-Ausgabe von MARC21 der Nationalbibliothek enthält folgende Formate

  • Format für bibliografische Daten
  • Format für Autoritätsdaten

Besonderheiten

Die vorliegende Ausgabe enthält die in der NB verwendeten Felder. Die von der NB nicht benutzten Indikatoren, Unterfelder und Codes sind innerhalb der jeweiligen Felder kursiv gesetzt. Von der NB verwendete Unterfelder sind in der Auflistung am Anfang jeder Feldbeschreibung fett markiert. Die Abschnitte «Eingabekonventionen» und «Geschichte der Inhaltsbezeichnungen», welche die Feldbeschreibungen in der Originalausgabe abschliessen, sind in der deutschen Übersetzung nicht enthalten.

Gegenwärtiger Stand der Bearbeitung von «MARC21 – Handbuch in deutscher Sprache»

Die Updates 1 (2000) – 26 (2018) wurden in die Grundversion eingefügt. In der vorliegenden Ausgabe sind nur die in der NB verwendeten Felder aufgeführt.

Sprachenregelung

Aus Gründen des Leseflusses wird in der vorliegenden Ausgabe des MARC21-Handbuches generell die männliche Form verwendet. Alle Personenbezeichnungen gelten gleichermassen für Frauen und Männer.

Katalogisierung der elektronischen Publikationen

Die bibliografischen Angaben der elektronischen Publikationen werden von den Lieferanten übermittelt und automatisch in den Online-Katalog Helveticat aufgenommen. Manuell werden die normierten Sucheinstiege bearbeitet. Sämtliche Datensätze enthalten einen Link zu e-Helvetica Access, dem Einstiegsportal zur digitalen Bibliothek der Schweizerischen Nationalbibliothek NB. Alle Inhalte sind per Volltextsuche auffindbar.

Aus urheberrechtlichen Gründen ist der Zugriff auf gewisse Inhalte eingeschränkt. Diese können in den Publikumsräumen der NB konsultiert werden. Eine entsprechende Information zum Zugangsstatus erscheint in der Trefferliste.

 

SLB-METS, Version 2.5, 30. Oktober 2017 (PDF, 386 kB, 02.10.2019)Das interne Datenformat der NB basiert auf der Struktur des METS-Standards (Metadata Encoding & Transmission Standard, Version 1.3).

Letzte Änderung 11.11.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek
Alphabetische Katalogisierung
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern
Schweiz
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nb.admin.ch/content/snl/de/home/fachinformationen/erschliessen/formalerschliessung.html