Descriptive cataloguing

Descriptive cataloguing provides access points for the documents in the Swiss National Library (NL) so that they can be accessed in the online catalogue Helveticat.

The bibliographic description allows each document in the NL to be clearly identified. It is carried out according to the international RDA (Resource Description & Access) standard using the international format MARC 21. Name authority data are linked to the German Integrated Authority File (Gemeinsame Normdatei, GND). These data are checked for each bibliographic record.

RDA NL Supplementary Rules

Since October 2016, descriptive cataloguing at the NL has been carried out in accordance with the RDA (Resource Description & Access) standard and the corresponding D-A-CH AWR (Application Guidelines for German-speaking Regions).

In order to take account of some specific Swiss characteristics, e.g. multilingualism, the NL has defined additional rules in its RDA NL Supplementary Rules.

The standardised access points for persons, corporate bodies and congresses are linked to the GND (Integrated Authority File).

The standardised access points in Helveticat, the NL’s catalogue, are only being updated to correspond to RDA standards if they are actually used again; otherwise the records remain unchanged and correspond to previous cataloguing rules (AACR, VSB).

MARC 21 German-language manual

The MARC 21 (MAchine Readable Cataloging) format is the result of harmonising two formats from 1999: USMARC and CAN/MARC. MARC 21 consists of the following formats:

  • Format for Bibliographic Data
  • Format for Authority Data
  • Format for Holdings Data
  • Format for Classification Data
  • Format for Community Information

MARC 21 was published in English by the Library of Congress and the Library and Archives Canada. An official version in French is also published in Canada.

Content and scope

The National Library’s web edition of MARC 21 contains the following formats:

  • Format for Bibliographic Data
  • Format for Authority Data

Particular features

The current edition contains the fields used by the NL. The indicators, subfield codes and coded values that are not used by the NL are shown in italics in the fields concerned. A list of the subfield codes used at the NL, shown in bold, can normally be found at the start of the description of a field. The “Input Conventions” and “Content Designator History” sections at the end of the field description in the original version are not included in the German translation.

Current status of updating the MARC 21 German-language manual

Updates 1(2000) – 26 (2018) have been added to the base version. Only the fields used at the NL are listed in the current version.

Language rules

For ease of use, the masculine form is generally used in the current version of the MARC 21 manual. All terms referring to people therefore apply equally to both men and women.

Cataloguing of electronic publications

The bibliographic data of the electronic publications are transmitted by the suppliers and automatically included in the online catalogue Helveticat. The «standardized search entries» (normierte Sucheinstiege) are processed manually. All records obtain a link to e-Helvetica Access, the gateway to the digital library of the Swiss National Library (NL). All content can be found by full text search.

Open access to certain content is restricted due to copyright reasons. These documents can be consulted in the public rooms within the NL. Information about the access status appear in the search results on e-Helvetica Access.

 

SLB-METS, Version 2.6, 18th December 2019 (in German) (PDF, 770 kB, 18.12.2019)The NL’s internal data format is based on the structure of the METS standard (Metadata Encoding & Transmission Standard, Version 1.3.)

Last modification 23.04.2020

Top of page

Contact

Swiss National Library
Cataloguing
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern
Switzerland
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.nb.admin.ch/content/snl/en/home/fachinformationen/erschliessen/formalerschliessung.html

Catalogage formel

Le catalogage formel, ou catalogage alphabétique, permet l’accès formel aux documents de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse (BN).

Les documents de la BN sont clairement identifiés sur la base de la description bibliographique. Il suit le standard international RDA, Ressource, Description & Access ainsi que le format international MARC21. Les notices d’autorité sont liées avec la « Gemeinsame Normdatei » (GND). Ces notices sont contrôlées pour chaque notice bibliographique.

RDA BN Réglementation supplémentaire

Depuis octobre 2016, le catalogage formel de la BN s’effectue d’après la norme RDA (Ressource, Description & Access) et les RA D-A-CH correspondantes (règles d’application pour l’espace germanophone).

Afin de prendre en considération les particularités suisses, la BN a défini pour certains thèmes, par exemple le plurilinguisme, des directives supplémentaires dans les RDA BN règlementation supplémentaire.

Les points d’accès autorisés pour les personnes, les collectivités et les congrès sont reliés avec la GND (Gemeinsame Normdatei)

Dans Helveticat, le catalogue de la BN, les points d’accès autorisés ne sont remaniés selon la norme RDA que s’ils sont à nouveau utilisés ; sinon, les notices, cataloguées selon les règles de catalogage antérieures (AACR, VSB), resteront inchangées.

MARC21 Manuel en langue allemande

Le nom MARC21 (MAchine Readable Cataloging) résulte de l’harmonisation de deux formats de 1999 : USMARC et CAN/MARC. MARC21 est composé des formats suivants :

  • format pour les données bibliographiques
  • format pour les vedettes d’autorité
  • format pour les données sur les fonds
  • format pour les données de classification
  • format sur les données de renseignements communautaires

La version anglaise de MARC21 a été publiée par la Bibliothèque du Congrès et la Bibliothèque et Archives Canada. Parallèlement à celle-ci, une version officielle en français paraît au Canada.

Contenu

L’édition sur le web de MARC21 de la Bibliothèque nationale contient les formats suivants :

  • format pour les données bibliographiques
  • format pour les vedettes d’autorité

Particularités

La présente édition contient les champs utilisés par la BN. Les indicateurs, les sous-champs et les codes qui ne sont pas utilisés à la BN sont indiqués en italique dans les champs concernés. Une liste des sous-champs utilisés à la BN, marqués en gras, se trouve généralement au début de la description d’un champ.

Les paragraphes « Définition et portée » et « Historique des désignateurs de contenu » qui terminent la description du champ dans la version originale ne sont pas comprises dans la traduction allemande.

Situation actuelle de la mise à jour de « MARC21 – Manuel en langue allemande »

Les mises à jour 1(2000) – 26 (2018) ont été ajoutées à la version de base. Dans la présente version sont seulement mentionnés les champs utilisés à la BN.

Régime linguistique

Afin de simplifier l’utilisation de la présente version du manuel MARC21, c’est la forme masculine qui a été, en général, retenue. Toutes les désignations concernant des personnes sont en conséquence valables autant pour des femmes que des hommes.

Catalogage des publications électroniques

Les données bibliographiques des publications électroniques sont déposées à la BN par les fournisseurs et recensées automatiquement dans le catalogue en ligne Helveticat. Les entrées de recherche normalisées sont traitées manuellement. Toutes ces notices contiennent un lien qui mènent à l’interface de consultation des publications numériques de la BN, e-Helvetica. Cette interface permet la recherche plein texte dans le contenu des publications digitales.

Pour des raisons de droits d'auteur, l'accès à certains contenus est limité. Ceux-ci peuvent être consultés dans les espaces publics de la BN. Une information est livrée quant à l'accessibilité de chaque publication dans la liste des occurrences.

 

SLB-METS, Version 2.6, 18 décembre 2019 (en allemand) (PDF, 964 kB, 25.08.2021)Le format de données interne de la BN se base sur la structure du standard METS (Metadata Encoding & Transmission Standard, version 1.3).

Dernière modification 23.04.2020

Début de la page

Contact

Bibliothèque nationale suisse
Catalogage alphabétique
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Berne
Suisse
Courriel

Imprimer contact

https://www.nb.admin.ch/content/snl/fr/home/fachinformationen/erschliessen/formalerschliessung.html