Full-text search

Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator

Print     


The Swiss National Library from 2007 to 2011: taking stock

Over the last five years, the Swiss National Library (NL) has expanded its services, improved cataloguing and indexing, and built up an electronic collection. The high standards of conservation have been maintained. All this was made possible by close cooperation with related institutions.


Marie-Christine Doffey, Director of the NL. Photo: Guadalupe Ruiz

The NL set itself some ambitious objectives in its strategy for 2007-2011. They included:

  • aligning services to the needs of our most important users,
  • expanding paper conservation into a centre of competence,
  • building up a collection of electronic Helvetica.

In the performance mandate for 2009-2011 the Federal Council also committed us to:

  • coordinate with Switzerland's cantonal and university libraries, primary user groups and other national libraries,
  • look for ways of delivering optimum management of library-specific IT applications.

A further key element of the performance mandate is a task that we have been performing for decades: maintaining a complete collection of printed works, making them available for circulation and outreach, and assisting with research requests and enquiries from our users.
As the performance mandate and strategy period come to an end, where does the NL stand?

Improving ease of use

Using our resources has become substantially more convenient. The HelveticArchives database, containing the holdings of the Swiss Literary Archives (SLA) and the Prints and Drawings Department, went online in 2008, the second of the NL's main databases to do so. The Helveticat library catalogue has been progressively improved. Digitised material can be ordered direct from the catalogue, currently published periodicals have been integrated, and new entries are enhanced with tables of contents. Swissbib, the metacatalogue of Swiss university libraries and the NL, further facilitates research. Visitors to the library now benefit from renovated public areas and improved technical infrastructure.

We are particularly focused on the needs of students and specialists working on the history, literatures, art and architecture of Switzerland, as well as information and documentation science. Each of these areas now has its own, freely accessible, specialised collection.

The new online version of the Bibliography on Swiss History (BSH) facilitates the work of historians in particular, as do the newspapers and periodicals that have been digitised and placed online in association with third parties.

The SLA brings new sources and topics into the study of literature. It has expanded its research collaborations and publication activity in recent years. Its core area of research is editorial philology, on which it also offers courses at Swiss universities. The importance of the SLA was very much in evidence at the ceremony held on 14 January 2011 to mark 20 years since its creation.

Of particular interest to art and architecture specialists is the Prints and Drawings Department (PDD), whose holdings can now be conveniently accessed thanks to the creation of a central point of contact. The network of institutions affiliated to the Swiss Poster Catalogue is growing steadily. The other sub-collections of the PDD are progressively being catalogued in HelveticArchives. A comprehensive collection concept ensures continual development. Research cooperations are in the process of being established.

The NL's advisory services in paper conservation, electronic archiving and digitisation are aimed at information and documentation specialists in the broadest sense, but fellow specialists benefit most from the NL's role as a coordinator on national and international committees.

All these innovations were necessary in order to maintain demand for our services at a constant level overall. On-site demand is tending to decline, while online services are proving more and more popular. The innovations have led to a marked increase in the use of the SLA, PDD and BSH.

Conservation standards remain high

The NL has long been the Swiss leader in paper conservation. Together with the Swiss Federal Archives, it has carried out pioneering work in deacidification. After ten years of mass deacidification, the vast majority of the documents that are suitable for this process have been treated. Decisions on the treatment of further items will have to be made on a case-by-case basis. Tests are currently being carried out for this purpose.

The high point of recent years was the opening of the underground stacks west in 2009. Like its predecessor, the underground stacks east, it meets the highest standards of conservation. The two stacks have sufficient capacity to house print documents until the 2030s. The collections are generally well preserved, as is confirmed by the survey carried out over recent years. Where a need for action has been identified, appropriate measures have been initiated.

The conservation skills of the NL are now available to other institutions and private individuals on payment of a fee. However, federal regulations preclude this service from becoming a self-financing  centre of competence.

Electronic collection now accessible

The collection of electronic Helvetica is growing constantly. It consists of two parts. The first is digitally born documents such as websites, electronic books and periodicals. This will grow in importance as ever more material is published electronically. The second is digitised printed matter - books, periodicals, posters and the like. Both collections owe their creation and growth to cooperation with third parties including cantonal and university libraries, publishing houses and federal offices.

Access platforms are now available for all types of electronic documents. Where copyright permits, original electronic documents and digitised monographs can be consulted via www.e-helvetica.nb.admin.ch. Dedicated platforms provide access to periodicals, newspapers, posters and digitised archive documents. 

The NL is also among the Swiss leaders in the electronic field. The fact that the electronic edition of the Swiss Official Gazette of Commerce is archived in the NL is just one reflection of this fact. The www.digicoord.ch platform jointly established by the NL and the RERO serves to coordinate digitisation in Swiss libraries.

Coordination and standardisation facilitate research

Coordination is indispensable to standardisation as well as a key prerequisite for data exchange and therefore making research easier and more convenient. A range of bodies are working to improve international coordination. Members of NL staff occupy leading functions in the IFLA, the European Dewey Usersʼ Group and the tri-national standardisation committee of the German National Library. In 2011 the Director of the NL was elected Vice-Chair of the CENL. The NL was also represented on the board of The European Library until 2011. Following its involvement in the German National Library's Schlagwortnormdatei (Keyword authority control), the NL is going a step further and will soon be introducing the Gemeinsame Normdatei (Combined authority files). Coordination in Switzerland is in the hands of, among others, the Conference of Swiss University Libraries, which the Director chaired from 2008 to 2011. She additionally heads the steering committee of the "e-lib.ch" project, which is developing a Swiss portal for comprehensive academic information research. Since 2005 the Director of the NL has also been Vice-Chair of Memoriav. The head of the PDD chairs Memoriav's photographic competence group. The Swiss Poster Catalogue, which is coordinated by the PDD, works closely with a wide range of partners to offer a virtual collection of Swiss posters that can be accessed regardless of where the originals are stored. Initiated by the SLA, KOOP-LITERA Schweiz is an internationally linked joint platform for Switzerland's literary archives.

Created in 2010, the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Libraries serves as their forum for coordination and exchange. The NL is also represented on the board. In 2010, the Swiss National Library Commission drew up a Charter of Swiss Libraries. In response, the EDK set up a working group to devise a nationally coordinated libraries' policy.

IT for the future

If a library is to fulfil its mandate, it needs sufficient money, competent and motivated staff, and state-of-the-art information technology.

For the 2009-2011 performance mandate period, the federal government made a total of CHF 113.4 million available to the NL.

Our staff are not only competent, but also highly motivated. That is confirmed by the positive feedback from users and the good results of the 2009 and 2011 staff surveys. Users normally respond with understanding even if they are unable to get precisely what they want - because the reasons why are explained in a friendly manner.

Our IT environment is integrated into that of the federal administration. That means our office automation meets the latest standards, though certain library-specific applications are still lagging behind. A new strategic IT plan is being put in place to help us catch up. In the years ahead, we need and intend to create the optimum basis for a digital library. Paper may always be with us, but the future is digital.

In memoriam Charlotte Kerr Dürrenmatt

Even a publicly financed institution depends on the dedication of private individuals. One of our most generous donors passed away on 28 December 2011: Charlotte Kerr Dürrenmatt. The SLA owes its foundation to her husband, the writer Friedrich Dürrenmatt. She herself was the driving force behind the creation of the Centre Dürrenmatt Neuchâtel (CDN). Until her death she was Vice-President of the Advisory Board and provided financial support for various events and publications of both the CDN and the SLA. We will remember Charlotte Kerr Dürrenmatt as a passionate advocate of the work of a great Swiss writer.

Marie-Christine Doffey
Director


Last updated on: 03.06.2012

End Content Area



http://www.nb.admin.ch/org/01549/04043/04044/index.html?lang=en

Recherche plein texte

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur

Imprimer     


La Bibliothèque nationale suisse de 2007 à 2011 : un bilan

Au cours des cinq dernières années, la Bibliothèque nationale suisse (BN) a élargi son offre de prestations, amélioré le catalogage et créé une collection électronique. Le haut niveau des normes de conservation a été respecté. Tout cela a été possible grâce à une étroite collaboration avec les institutions sœurs.


Marie-Christine Doffey, Directrice de la BN. Photo: Guadalupe Ruiz

La BN s'était fixé des objectifs ambitieux dans sa stratégie 2007-2011. Nous avions prévu

  • d'adapter les prestations aux publics cibles,
  • de créer un centre de compétences en matière de conservation du papier, et
  • de créer une collection d'Helvetica électroniques.

Le mandat de prestations 2009-2011 du Conseil fédéral nous demandait de plus  :

  • de nous coordonner avec les bibliothèques cantonales et universitaires suisses, les groupes d'usagers les plus importants et les autres bibliothèques nationales,
  • de trouver des solutions pour une gestion optimale des applications informatiques spécialisées.

Assurer l'exhaustivité de la collection d'imprimés, les mettre à disposition du public (prêt et mise en valeur) et conseiller les usagers, ce que nous faisons depuis des décennies, sont également des priorités du mandat de prestations.
Où en est la BN à la fin de cette période de mandat de prestations et de stratégie ?

L’utilisation est plus confortable

L'accès aux collections est devenu beaucoup plus confortable. La banque de données HelveticArchives a été mise en ligne en 2008 ; c'est le deuxième grand catalogue de la BN. Il contient les fonds des Archives littéraires suisses (ALS) et du Cabinet des estampes. Le catalogue Helveticat est constamment amélioré. Il permet de commander directement la numérisation de documents, les revues vivantes y sont intégrées, les nouvelles notices sont enrichies de tables des matières. Swissbib, le métacatalogue des bibliothèques des universités et des hautes écoles suisses et de la BN, facilite aussi la recherche. Quiconque vient à la Bibliothèque trouve des espaces publics rénovés dont l'infrastructure a été améliorée.

Nous portons une attention particulière aux étudiants et aux chercheurs des domaines de l'histoire suisse, des littératures suisses, de l'art et de l'architecture suisses et des sciences de l'information documentaire. Chaque domaine dispose à présent de sa bibliothèque de référence en accès libre.

La nouvelle version en ligne de la Bibliographie de l'histoire suisse (BHS) facilite le travail des historiens, tout comme les journaux et les revues qui ont été numérisés et mis en ligne en collaboration avec des tiers.

Les ALS amènent de nouvelles sources et de nouveaux thèmes aux chercheurs en littérature. Ces dernières années, elles ont élargi leur collaboration en matière de recherche et leur activité de publication. La philologie de l'édition est leur premier domaine de recherche et elles le défendent aussi dans les universités suisses. La célébration de leur 20ème anniversaire le 14 janvier 2011 a mis en évidence de façon éclatante l'importance des ALS.

Le Cabinet des estampes (CE) est précieux pour les spécialistes de l'art et de l'architecture qui, grâce à un service central de renseignements, peuvent maintenant l'utiliser confortablement. Le réseau des institutions qui participent au Catalogue collectif suisse des affiches s'agrandit régulièrement. Les autres collections du CE sont répertoriées l'une après l'autre dans HelveticArchives. Une stratégie de collection globale assure son développement. Des coopérations pour la recherche sont en cours d'élaboration.

La BN offre des prestations de conseil dans les domaines de la conservation du papier, de l'archivage électronique et de la numérisation aux spécialistes de l'information documentaire au sens le plus large. Mais nos collègues profitent avant tout du rôle de coordination de la BN qui les représente dans les congrès nationaux et internationaux.

Tous ces développements étaient nécessaires pour maintenir à un bon niveau la demande de nos prestations. Sur place, elle est plutôt en recul alors qu'en ligne elle augmente. Aux ALS, au CE et à la BHS, ces innovations ont entraîné une nette augmentation de l'utilisation.

Les normes de conservation restent élevées

La BN est depuis longtemps à la pointe de la conservation du papier. Avec les Archives fédérales, elle joue un rôle de pionnier dans le domaine de la désacidification du papier. Après dix ans de désacidification de masse, la majeure partie des documents qui se prêtent à cette procédure a été traitée. Ce qui reste à désacidifier doit l'être au cas par cas. Des tests sont actuellement en cours.

L'inauguration du nouveau magasin souterrain ouest en 2009 a été le point d'orgue de ces dernières années. Comme le magasin souterrain est, construit quelques années plus tôt, il répond aux normes de conservation les plus exigentes. Les deux magasins offrent assez de place pour accueillir des documents imprimés jusque dans les années 2030. Les collections sont pour l'essentiel bien conservées, comme l'atteste l'enquête réalisée ces dernières années. Des mesures sont prises là où il y a nécessité d'agir.

La BN met aussi ses compétences en conservation à disposition d'autres institutions et de personnes privées, contre rémunération. Ce service ne se transformera cependant pas en un centre de compétences économiquement viable ; en effet, les règlements fédéraux l'interdisent.

La collection électronique est accessible

La collection des Helvetica électroniques croît constamment. Elle est divisée en deux parties : la première contient les documents nés numériques, comme les sites web, les livres et les revues électroniques. Ce type de documents prend de l'importance, car on publie de plus en plus sous forme électronique. La deuxième partie comprend la collection d'imprimés numérisés : livres, revues, affiches, etc. Ces deux collections sont nées et grandissent grâce à la collaboration avec des tiers. Les bibliothèques cantonales et universitaires, les maisons d'édition et les offices fédéraux y participent.

Tous les documents électroniques sont accessibles sur différentes plates-formes. Pour autant que les droits d'auteur le permettent, les documents nés numériques et les monographies numérisées peuvent être téléchargées sur www.e-helvetica.nb.admin.ch. Des plates-formes spécifiques donnent accès aux revues, journaux, affiches et documents d'archives numérisés.

Dans le domaine électronique aussi la BN fait œuvre de pionnier. Un exemple à titre de preuve : les responsables de la Feuille officielle suisse du commerce ont fait archiver leur édition électronique à la BN. La plate-forme www.digicoord.ch, créée conjointement par la BN et RERO, aide à coordonner la numérisation dans les bibliothèques suisses.

La coordination et la standardisation augmentent le confort de recherche

La coordination est indispensable à la standardisation, une condition essentielle pour l'échange de données et donc pour l'augmentation du confort de recherche. Divers comités s'occupent de la coordination internationale. Les collaborateurs de la BN exercent des fonctions dirigeantes au sein de l'IFLA, de l'European Dewey Users' Group et dans le comité de standardisation trinational de la Bibliothèque nationale allemande. En 2011, la directrice de la BN a été élue au poste de vice-présidente de la CENL. La BN était également représentée en 2011 au comité directeur de The European Library. Après avoir participé au répertoire d'autorités-matières de la Bibliothèque nationale allemande, la BN passe à l'étape suivante et introduira prochainement la norme d'échange commune Gemeinsame Normdatei.

La coordination en Suisse est notamment assurée par la Conférence des bibliothèques universitaires suisses (CUB), présidée par la directrice de 2008 à 2011. Elle dirige également le comité de pilotage du projet « e-lib.ch » qui développe un portail suisse pour les recherches d'informations scientifiques. Depuis 2005, la directrice de la BN est également vice-présidente de Memoriav. La responsable du CE préside le groupe de compétence photographie de Memoriav. Le Catalogue suisse des affiches, coordonné par le CE, permet, grâce à la collaboration des partenaires, d'accéder à une collection virtuelle d'affiches suisses, indépendemment du lieu où les objets physiques sont conservés. Le KOOP-LITERA suisse, lancé par les ALS, offre une plate-forme internationale aux différents centres d'archives littéraires de Suisse.

La Conférence suisse des bibliothèques cantonales, qui sert de forum d'échange et de coordination, existe depuis 2010. La BN est représentée au comité directeur. La commission de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse a élaboré en 2010 une Charte des bibliothèques suisses; suite à cela, la CDIP a mis sur pied un groupe de travail pour une politique nationale des bibliothèques.

L’informatique pour l’avenir

Pour qu'une bibliothèque puisse remplir son mandat, elle a besoin de moyens financiers en suffisance, de collaborateurs compétents et motivés et d'une informatique moderne.

La Confédération a mis à disposition de la BN un total de 113,4 millions de francs pendant la période de mandat 2009 à 2011.

Nos collaborateurs sont non seulement compétents, mais aussi très motivés, comme le montrent les retours positifs des usagers et les bons résultats des enquêtes auprès du personnel 2009 et 2011. Les usagers se montrent même en général compréhensifs si les choses ne se passent pas comme ils le souhaitent, parce que le personnel est aimable avec eux.

Notre environnement informatique est intégré à celui de l'administration fédérale. Pour ce qui est de la bureautique, nous sommes à niveau, mais en ce qui concerne certaines applications spécifiques aux bibliothèques, nous avons du retard. Une nouvelle planification informatique devrait nous permettre de le combler. Ces prochaines années, nous voulons et devons créer des conditions optimales pour une bibliothèque numérique. Même si le papier demeure : l'avenir est numérique.

Disparition de Charlotte Kerr Dürrenmatt

Une institution financée par les pouvoirs publics a parfois aussi besoin de l'engagement de personnes privées. Une de nos plus généreuses donatrices est décédée le 28 décembre 2011 : Charlotte Kerr Dürrenmatt. C'est à son mari, l'écrivain Friedrich Dürrenmatt, que l'on doit la fondation des ALS. Elle-même s'est engagée sans relâche pour la création du Centre Dürrenmatt Neuchâtel (CDN). Elle fut jusqu'à son décès vice-présidente du Conseil consultatif et soutint financièrement diverses manifestations et publications du CDN et des ALS. Charlotte Kerr Dürrenmatt restera dans notre mémoire une championne de l'œuvre du grand écrivain suisse.

Marie-Christine Doffey
Directrice


Dernière mise à jour le: 03.06.2012

Fin secteur de contenu



http://www.nb.admin.ch/org/01549/04043/04044/index.html?lang=fr