Full-text search

Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator

Print     


The Swiss National Library from 2007 to 2011: taking stock

Over the last five years, the Swiss National Library (NL) has expanded its services, improved cataloguing and indexing, and built up an electronic collection. The high standards of conservation have been maintained. All this was made possible by close cooperation with related institutions.


Marie-Christine Doffey, Director of the NL. Photo: Guadalupe Ruiz

The NL set itself some ambitious objectives in its strategy for 2007-2011. They included:

  • aligning services to the needs of our most important users,
  • expanding paper conservation into a centre of competence,
  • building up a collection of electronic Helvetica.

In the performance mandate for 2009-2011 the Federal Council also committed us to:

  • coordinate with Switzerland's cantonal and university libraries, primary user groups and other national libraries,
  • look for ways of delivering optimum management of library-specific IT applications.

A further key element of the performance mandate is a task that we have been performing for decades: maintaining a complete collection of printed works, making them available for circulation and outreach, and assisting with research requests and enquiries from our users.
As the performance mandate and strategy period come to an end, where does the NL stand?

Improving ease of use

Using our resources has become substantially more convenient. The HelveticArchives database, containing the holdings of the Swiss Literary Archives (SLA) and the Prints and Drawings Department, went online in 2008, the second of the NL's main databases to do so. The Helveticat library catalogue has been progressively improved. Digitised material can be ordered direct from the catalogue, currently published periodicals have been integrated, and new entries are enhanced with tables of contents. Swissbib, the metacatalogue of Swiss university libraries and the NL, further facilitates research. Visitors to the library now benefit from renovated public areas and improved technical infrastructure.

We are particularly focused on the needs of students and specialists working on the history, literatures, art and architecture of Switzerland, as well as information and documentation science. Each of these areas now has its own, freely accessible, specialised collection.

The new online version of the Bibliography on Swiss History (BSH) facilitates the work of historians in particular, as do the newspapers and periodicals that have been digitised and placed online in association with third parties.

The SLA brings new sources and topics into the study of literature. It has expanded its research collaborations and publication activity in recent years. Its core area of research is editorial philology, on which it also offers courses at Swiss universities. The importance of the SLA was very much in evidence at the ceremony held on 14 January 2011 to mark 20 years since its creation.

Of particular interest to art and architecture specialists is the Prints and Drawings Department (PDD), whose holdings can now be conveniently accessed thanks to the creation of a central point of contact. The network of institutions affiliated to the Swiss Poster Catalogue is growing steadily. The other sub-collections of the PDD are progressively being catalogued in HelveticArchives. A comprehensive collection concept ensures continual development. Research cooperations are in the process of being established.

The NL's advisory services in paper conservation, electronic archiving and digitisation are aimed at information and documentation specialists in the broadest sense, but fellow specialists benefit most from the NL's role as a coordinator on national and international committees.

All these innovations were necessary in order to maintain demand for our services at a constant level overall. On-site demand is tending to decline, while online services are proving more and more popular. The innovations have led to a marked increase in the use of the SLA, PDD and BSH.

Conservation standards remain high

The NL has long been the Swiss leader in paper conservation. Together with the Swiss Federal Archives, it has carried out pioneering work in deacidification. After ten years of mass deacidification, the vast majority of the documents that are suitable for this process have been treated. Decisions on the treatment of further items will have to be made on a case-by-case basis. Tests are currently being carried out for this purpose.

The high point of recent years was the opening of the underground stacks west in 2009. Like its predecessor, the underground stacks east, it meets the highest standards of conservation. The two stacks have sufficient capacity to house print documents until the 2030s. The collections are generally well preserved, as is confirmed by the survey carried out over recent years. Where a need for action has been identified, appropriate measures have been initiated.

The conservation skills of the NL are now available to other institutions and private individuals on payment of a fee. However, federal regulations preclude this service from becoming a self-financing  centre of competence.

Electronic collection now accessible

The collection of electronic Helvetica is growing constantly. It consists of two parts. The first is digitally born documents such as websites, electronic books and periodicals. This will grow in importance as ever more material is published electronically. The second is digitised printed matter - books, periodicals, posters and the like. Both collections owe their creation and growth to cooperation with third parties including cantonal and university libraries, publishing houses and federal offices.

Access platforms are now available for all types of electronic documents. Where copyright permits, original electronic documents and digitised monographs can be consulted via www.e-helvetica.nb.admin.ch. Dedicated platforms provide access to periodicals, newspapers, posters and digitised archive documents. 

The NL is also among the Swiss leaders in the electronic field. The fact that the electronic edition of the Swiss Official Gazette of Commerce is archived in the NL is just one reflection of this fact. The www.digicoord.ch platform jointly established by the NL and the RERO serves to coordinate digitisation in Swiss libraries.

Coordination and standardisation facilitate research

Coordination is indispensable to standardisation as well as a key prerequisite for data exchange and therefore making research easier and more convenient. A range of bodies are working to improve international coordination. Members of NL staff occupy leading functions in the IFLA, the European Dewey Usersʼ Group and the tri-national standardisation committee of the German National Library. In 2011 the Director of the NL was elected Vice-Chair of the CENL. The NL was also represented on the board of The European Library until 2011. Following its involvement in the German National Library's Schlagwortnormdatei (Keyword authority control), the NL is going a step further and will soon be introducing the Gemeinsame Normdatei (Combined authority files). Coordination in Switzerland is in the hands of, among others, the Conference of Swiss University Libraries, which the Director chaired from 2008 to 2011. She additionally heads the steering committee of the "e-lib.ch" project, which is developing a Swiss portal for comprehensive academic information research. Since 2005 the Director of the NL has also been Vice-Chair of Memoriav. The head of the PDD chairs Memoriav's photographic competence group. The Swiss Poster Catalogue, which is coordinated by the PDD, works closely with a wide range of partners to offer a virtual collection of Swiss posters that can be accessed regardless of where the originals are stored. Initiated by the SLA, KOOP-LITERA Schweiz is an internationally linked joint platform for Switzerland's literary archives.

Created in 2010, the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Libraries serves as their forum for coordination and exchange. The NL is also represented on the board. In 2010, the Swiss National Library Commission drew up a Charter of Swiss Libraries. In response, the EDK set up a working group to devise a nationally coordinated libraries' policy.

IT for the future

If a library is to fulfil its mandate, it needs sufficient money, competent and motivated staff, and state-of-the-art information technology.

For the 2009-2011 performance mandate period, the federal government made a total of CHF 113.4 million available to the NL.

Our staff are not only competent, but also highly motivated. That is confirmed by the positive feedback from users and the good results of the 2009 and 2011 staff surveys. Users normally respond with understanding even if they are unable to get precisely what they want - because the reasons why are explained in a friendly manner.

Our IT environment is integrated into that of the federal administration. That means our office automation meets the latest standards, though certain library-specific applications are still lagging behind. A new strategic IT plan is being put in place to help us catch up. In the years ahead, we need and intend to create the optimum basis for a digital library. Paper may always be with us, but the future is digital.

In memoriam Charlotte Kerr Dürrenmatt

Even a publicly financed institution depends on the dedication of private individuals. One of our most generous donors passed away on 28 December 2011: Charlotte Kerr Dürrenmatt. The SLA owes its foundation to her husband, the writer Friedrich Dürrenmatt. She herself was the driving force behind the creation of the Centre Dürrenmatt Neuchâtel (CDN). Until her death she was Vice-President of the Advisory Board and provided financial support for various events and publications of both the CDN and the SLA. We will remember Charlotte Kerr Dürrenmatt as a passionate advocate of the work of a great Swiss writer.

Marie-Christine Doffey
Director


Last updated on: 03.06.2012

End Content Area



http://www.nb.admin.ch/org/01549/04043/04044/index.html?lang=en

Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek NB

Diese Ausgabe ist für Browser ohne zureichende CSS-Unterstützung gedacht und richtet sich vor allem an Sehbehinderte. Alle Inhalte sind auch mit älteren Browsern voll nutzbar. Für eine grafisch ansprechendere Ansicht verwenden Sie aber bitte einen moder

Beginn Sprachwahl



Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator

Drucken zu Facebook    


Die Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek von 2007 bis 2011: Eine Bilanz

In den letzten fünf Jahren hat die Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek (NB) ihre Dienstleistungen erweitert, die Erschliessung verbessert, eine elektronische Sammlung aufgebaut. Die hohen Konservierungsstandards wurden gehalten. Möglich wurde dies alles dank enger Zusammenarbeit mit verwandten Institutionen.


Marie-Christine Doffey, Direktorin der NB. Foto: Guadalupe Ruiz

In der Strategie 2007‒2011 gab sich die NB ehrgeizige Ziele. Wir hatten uns vorgenommen

  • die Dienstleistungen auf die wichtigsten Nutzerinnen und Nutzer auszurichten,
  • die Papierkonservierung zu einem Kompetenzzentrum auszubauen,
  • eine Sammlung von elektronischen Helvetica aufzubauen.

Im Leistungsauftrag 2009-2011 verpflichtete uns der Bundesrat zusätzlich dazu:

  • uns mit den Schweizer Kantons- und Universitätsbibliotheken, den primären Nutzergruppen und den anderen Nationalbibliotheken zu koordinieren,
  • Lösungen für die optimale Betreuung der bibliotheksspezifischen IT-Applikationen zu suchen.

Was wir seit Jahrzehnten selbstverständlich tun, ist ebenfalls ein Schwerpunkt des Leistungsauftrags: die Sammlung gedruckter Werke vollständig halten, sie für Ausleihe und Vermittlung zur Verfügung stellen, die Nutzenden beraten.
Wo steht die NB am Ende der Leistungsauftragsperiode, am Schluss der Strategieperiode?

Nutzung wird komfortabler

Die Benutzung ist wesentlich komfortabler geworden. Als zweiter Hauptkatalog der NB ging 2008 die Archivdatenbank HelveticArchives online, die die Bestände des Schweizerischen Literaturarchivs (SLA) und der Graphischen Sammlung (GS) erschliesst. Der Bibliothekskatalog Helveticat wurde laufend verbessert. Digitalisate können direkt aus dem Katalog bestellt werden, die lebenden Zeitschriften sind integriert, Neueinträge werden mit Inhaltsverzeichnissen angereichert. Swissbib, der Metakatalog der Schweizer Hochschulbibliotheken und der NB, erleichert die Recherche zusätzlich. Wer in die Bibliothek kommt, findet erneuerte Publikumsräume mit verbesserter technischer Infrastruktur vor.

Unsere besondere Aufmerksamkeit gilt Studierenden und Fachleuten der Schweizer Geschichte, der Schweizer Literaturen, der Schweizer Kunst und Architektur, der Informations- und Dokumentationswissenschaften. Jeder dieser Fachbereiche verfügt nun über eine eigene, frei zugängliche Schwerpunktbibliothek.

Die neue Online-Version der Bibliographie der Schweizergeschichte (BSG)  erleichtert besonders Historikern und Historikerinnen die Arbeit, ebenso wie die Zeitungen und Zeitschriften, die in Zusammenarbeit mit Dritten digitalisiert und online aufgeschaltet wurden.

Neue Quellen und neue Themen in die Literaturwissenschaft bringt das SLA. Es hat in den letzten Jahren die Forschungszusammenarbeit und die Publikationstätigkeit erweitert. Sein ureigenes Forschungsgebiet ist die Editionsphilologie, das es auch in der Lehre an Schweizer Universitäten vertritt. Eindrücklich sichtbar wurde die Bedeutung des SLA am Festakt zu seinem 20jährigen Bestehen am 14. Januar 2011.

Von besonderem Interesse für auf Kunst und Architektur Spezialisierte ist die Graphische Sammlung. Dank einer zentralen Ansprechsstelle kann sie nun komfortabel genutzt werden. Das Netzwerk der Institutionen, die dem Schweizer Plakatgesamtkatalog angeschlossen sind, erweitert sich laufend. Die anderen Teilsammlungen der GS werden eine nach der anderen in HelveticArchives erschlossen. Ein umfassendes Sammelkonzept sichert die kontinuierliche Entwicklung. Forschungskooperationen sind im Aufbau.

An Informations- und Dokumentationsspezialisten im weitesten Sinne richten sich die Beratungsdienstleistungen der NB in der Papierkonservierung, der elektronischen Archivierung und in der Digitalisierung. Vor allem aber profitieren Fachkolleginnen und -kollegen von der Koordinationsrolle der NB, die sie in nationalen und internationalen Gremien wahrnimmt.

Alle diese Neuerungen waren nötig, um die Nachfrage nach unseren Dienstleistungen übers Ganze gesehen konstant zu halten. Vor Ort geht sie eher zurück, online nimmt sie zu. Im SLA, in der GS und bei der BSG haben die Innovationen ein deutliches Ansteigen der Nutzung bewirkt.

Konservierungsstandards bleiben hoch

Seit langem ist die NB in der Schweiz führend in der Papierkonservierung. Zusammen mit dem Bundesarchiv leistete sie Pionierarbeit in der Papierentsäuerung. Nach zehn Jahren Massenentsäuerung ist der grösste Teil der Dokumente, die sich für dieses Verfahren eignen, behandelt. Was noch zu entsäuern bleibt, muss einzeln angesehen werden. Tests dafür werden zurzeit durchgeführt.

Der Höhepunkt der letzten Jahre war die Eröffnung des neuen Tiefmagazins West im Jahr 2009. Wie sein Vorgänger, das Tiefmagazin Ost, entspricht es höchsten Konservierungsstandards. Die beiden Magazine können die Printdokumente bis in die 2030er Jahre aufnehmen. Die Sammlungen sind im Wesentlichen gut erhalten. Dies bestätigt die Zustandserhebung, die in den letzten Jahren durchgeführt wurde. Wo Handlungsbedarf besteht, sind Massnahmen in die Wege geleitet.

Die Konservierungskompetenzen der NB stehen gegen Entgelt nun auch anderen Institutionen und Privaten zur Verfügung. Ein eigenwirtschaftlich funktionierendes Kompetenzzentrum kann daraus allerdings nicht werden. Bundesrechtliche Regelungen stehen dem entgegen.

Elektronische Sammlung ist zugänglich

Die Sammlung der elektronischen Helvetica wächst laufend. Sie besteht aus zwei Teilen. Zum einen enthält sie digital entstandene Dokumente, wie zum Beispiel Websites, elektronische Bücher und Zeitschriften. Dieser Teil wird zunehmend wichtiger werden, da immer mehr elektronisch publiziert wird. Zum anderen umfasst die Sammlung digitalisierte Drucke - Bücher, Zeitschriften, Plakate und anderes. Beide Sammlungsteile entstehen und wachsen dank der Zusammenarbeit mit Dritten. Beteiligt sind Kantons- und Universitätsbibliotheken, Verlage sowie Ämter des Bundes.

Für alle Arten von elektronischen Dokumenten bestehen nun Zugriffsplattformen. Soweit das Urheberrecht es erlaubt, sind original elektronische Dokumente und digitalisierte Monographien via www.e-helvetica.nb.admin.ch abrufbar. Spezifische Plattformen eröffnen den Zugang zu Zeitschriften, Zeitungen, Plakaten und digitalisierten Archivdokumenten.

Auch im elektronischen Bereich ist die NB in der Schweiz weit vorne. Dokumentiert wird das beispielsweise dadurch, dass die Verantwortlichen des Schweizerischen Handelsamtsblatts die elektronische Ausgabe in der NB archivieren lassen. Die von der NB und RERO  gemeinsam eingerichtete Plattform www.digicoord.ch dient der Koordination der Digitalisierung in den Schweizer Bibliotheken.

Koordination und Standardisierung erhöhen den Recherchekomfort

Koordination ist unerlässlich für die Standardisierung, eine wesentliche Voraussetzung für den Datenaustausch und damit für die Erhöhung des Recherchekomforts. Der internationalen Koordination dient eine Vielfalt von Gremien. Mitarbeitende der NB bekleiden leitende Funktionen bei der IFLA, der European Dewey Usersʼ Group und im trinationalen Standardisierungsausschuss der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek. Im Jahr 2011 wurde die Direktorin der NB zur Vizepräsidentin der CENL gewählt. Auch im Vorstand von The European Library war die NB bis 2011 vertreten. Nach der Beteiligung an der Schlagwortnormdatei der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek geht die NB einen Schritt weiter und führt demnächst die Gemeinsame Normdatei ein.

Für die Koordination in der Schweiz sorgt unter anderem die Konferenz der Universitätsbibliotheken der Schweiz (KUB), die die Direktorin von 2008-2011 präsidierte. Sie leitet auch den Lenkungsauschuss des Projekts «e-lib.ch», in dem ein Schweizer Portal für die umfassende wissenschaftliche Informationsrecherche entwickelt wird. Seit 2005 ist die NB-Direktorin Vizepräsidentin von Memoriav. Die Leiterin der GS steht der Fotokompetenzgruppe von Memoriav vor. Der Schweizer Plakatgesamtkatalog,  der von der GS koordiniert wird, bietet dank der Zusammenarbeit der unterschiedlichsten Partner eine virtuelle Schweizer Plakatsammlung, unabhängig davon, wo die physischen Objekte aufbewahrt werden. Im vom SLA initiierten KOOP-LITERA Schweiz haben die Literaturarchive der Schweiz eine international vernetzte gemeinsame Plattform.

Seit 2010 besteht die Schweizerische Konferenz der Kantonsbibliotheken, die diesen als Austausch- und Koordinationsforum dient. Auch die NB ist im Vorstand vertreten. Die Kommission der Schweizerischen Nationalbibliothek erarbeitete 2010 eine Charta der Schweizer Bibliotheken. Diese führte dazu, dass die EDK eine Arbeitsgruppe für eine national koordinierte Bibliothekspolitik einsetzte.

Informatik für die Zukunft

Damit eine Bibliothek ihren Auftrag erfüllen kann, braucht sie genügend Geld, kompetente und motivierte Mitarbeitende und eine zeitgemässe Informatik.
In der Leistungsauftragsperiode 2009-2011 stellte der Bund der NB total 113,4 Millionen Franken zur Verfügung.

Unsere Mitarbeitenden sind nicht nur kompetent, sondern auch sehr motiviert. Das zeigen uns die positiven Feedbacks aus dem Kreis der Benutzenden und die guten Resultate in den Personalumfragen 2009 und 2011. Die Benutzenden reagieren in der Regel selbst dann mit Verständnis, wenn sie etwas nicht so bekommen können, wie sie es sich wünschen - weil sie es freundlich erklärt bekommen.

Unsere IT-Umgebung ist in die der Bundesverwaltung integriert. Damit sind wir in der Büroautomation auf der Höhe der Zeit, bei einigen bibliotheksspezifischen Anwendungen aber im Rückstand. Eine neue Strategische Informatikplanung soll uns helfen, diesen aufzuholen. In den kommenden Jahren wollen und müssen wir optimale Voraussetzungen für eine digitale Bibliothek schaffen. Auch wenn das Papier bleiben wird: Die Zukunft ist digital.

Im Gedenken an Charlotte Kerr Dürrenmatt

Auch eine öffentlich finanzierte Institution ist auf das Engagement von Privaten angewiesen. Eine unserer grosszügigsten Donatorinnen ist am 28. Dezember 2011 verstorben: Charlotte Kerr Dürrenmatt. Auf ihren Mann, den Schriftsteller Friedrich Dürrenmatt, geht die Gründung des SLA zurück. Sie selbst war die treibende Kraft bei der Errichtung des Centre Dürrenmatt Neuchâtel (CDN). Bis zu ihrem Tod war sie Vizepräsidentin des Beirats und unterstützte verschiedene Anlässe und Publikationen des CDN wie des SLA finanziell. Charlotte Kerr Dürrenmatt wird uns als leidenschaftliche Kämpferin für das Werk eines grossen Schweizer Schriftstellers in Erinnerung bleiben.

Marie-Christine Doffey
Direktorin


Zuletzt aktualisiert am: 03.06.2012

Ende Inhaltsbereich



Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek NB
Kontakt | Rechtliches
http://www.nb.admin.ch/org/01549/04043/04044/index.html?lang=de