Home Content Area

Home Navigator

  • Home
    • > NL Professional

End Navigator

Print     


NL Professional

Work accomplished by the Bookbinding Service
Work accomplished by the Bookbinding Service
© NL

The fundamental mission of the Swiss National Library (NL) is to collect, inventory and make available Swiss cultural heritage in written form. Thus this institution is a valuable source of written documents, which allow a better understanding of Switzerland and its inhabitants.

Every year, some 60'000 items are added to the NL collection, every day, specialists add as many as 160 publications to the collection (books, magazines, maps, manuscripts, iconographic documents, electronic documents, etc.) Once inventoried according to standardised rules in the online catalogues, these publications officially become part of the collections. Every fifteen days, the Swiss national bibliography, “The Swiss Book” lists new Swiss publications. The conservation department ensures that proper conservation measures are taken to preserve all original documents in optimal up-to-standard storage conditions.

Because collaboration with national and international partners is essential, the exchange of knowledge and experiences, whether in joint projects or working groups and specialised groups, or in all types of training opportunities and conferences, is indispensable for the systematic development of professional librarians capable of meeting future challenges, particularly in the new era of electronic publications.

The NL plays an active role in the training of professionals in the areas of information and documentation, photography, bookbindery and conservation. It also participates in university research projects related to literature.

The NL also manages the ISSN Centre Switzerland. The ISSN, “International Standard Serial Number (ISSN)”, is a standardised international code, which allows the unequivocal identification of all serial publications. This service is offered to Swiss newspaper and magazine publishers.


Last updated on: 12.02.2014

End Content Area

Full-text search

Suggestions and comments



http://www.nb.admin.ch/nb_professionnel/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur

Imprimer     


BN Professionnel

Les travaux réalisés par la Reliure
Les travaux réalisés par la Reliure
© BN

La Bibliothèque nationale suisse (BN) a pour mission de collectionner, d’inventorier, de mettre à disposition et de conserver le patrimoine culturel écrit de la Suisse. Elle est une source écrite d’importance majeure pour comprendre la Suisse et la population suisse.

Chaque année, environ 60'000 objets sont intégrés à la collection de la BN. Chaque jour, des spécialistes ajoutent environ 160 nouvelles publications (livres, revues, cartes géographiques, manuscrits, œuvres iconographiques, publications électroniques, etc.). Une fois inventoriées dans des catalogues en ligne selon des règles normalisées, ces publications font officiellement partie des collections. La bibliographie nationale suisse „Le Livre suisse“ recense tous les quinze jours toutes les nouvelles parutions suisses. La conservation des originaux, l’une des priorités, est garantie par des mesures de conservation adéquates et des espaces d’archivage optimaux.

La collaboration avec des partenaires nationaux et internationaux est primordiale. L’échange de connaissances et d’expériences, que ce soit par des projets communs, des groupes de travail, des groupements spécialisés, des offres de formation et de formation continue ou par des conférences, est indispensable à un développement bibliothéconomique orienté vers le futur et en phase avec l’ère électronique.

La BN forme de futurs professionnels dans les domaines de l’information et de la documentation, de la photographie, de la conservation et de la reliure. Elle participe activement à des projets de recherche universitaires sur le thème de la littérature.

La BN exploite le Centre ISSN Suisse. Le „International Standard Serial Number (ISSN)“ est un code international normalisé qui permet d’identifier de manière univoque toute publication en série. Cette prestation s’adresse aux éditeurs suisses de journaux et de revues.


Dernière mise à jour le: 12.02.2014

Fin secteur de contenu

Recherche plein texte

Suggestions et critiques



http://www.nb.admin.ch/nb_professionnel/index.html?lang=fr