Home Content Area

Home Navigator

  • Home
    • > NL Professional

End Navigator

Print     


NL Professional

Work accomplished by the Bookbinding Service
Work accomplished by the Bookbinding Service
© NL

The fundamental mission of the Swiss National Library (NL) is to collect, inventory and make available Swiss cultural heritage in written form. Thus this institution is a valuable source of written documents, which allow a better understanding of Switzerland and its inhabitants.

Every year, some 60'000 items are added to the NL collection, every day, specialists add as many as 160 publications to the collection (books, magazines, maps, manuscripts, iconographic documents, electronic documents, etc.) Once inventoried according to standardised rules in the online catalogues, these publications officially become part of the collections. Every fifteen days, the Swiss national bibliography, “The Swiss Book” lists new Swiss publications. The conservation department ensures that proper conservation measures are taken to preserve all original documents in optimal up-to-standard storage conditions.

Because collaboration with national and international partners is essential, the exchange of knowledge and experiences, whether in joint projects or working groups and specialised groups, or in all types of training opportunities and conferences, is indispensable for the systematic development of professional librarians capable of meeting future challenges, particularly in the new era of electronic publications.

The NL plays an active role in the training of professionals in the areas of information and documentation, photography, bookbindery and conservation. It also participates in university research projects related to literature.

The NL also manages the ISSN Centre Switzerland. The ISSN, “International Standard Serial Number (ISSN)”, is a standardised international code, which allows the unequivocal identification of all serial publications. This service is offered to Swiss newspaper and magazine publishers.


Last updated on: 12.02.2014

End Content Area

Full-text search

Suggestions and comments



http://www.nb.admin.ch/nb_professionnel/index.html?lang=en

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator

Drucken zu Facebook    


NB Professionell

Die Arbeiten der Buchbinderei
Die Arbeiten der Buchbinderei
© NB

Die Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek (NB) ist verantwortlich für das Sammeln, Erschliessen, Vermitteln und Erhalten des schriftlichen Kulturerbes der Schweiz. Sie ist die wichtigste schriftliche Quelle zum Verständnis der Schweiz und der Schweizer Bevölkerung.

Jährlich werden rund 60'000 Objekte in die Sammlung der NB integriert. Spezialisierte Fachpersonen ergänzen die Sammlung täglich mit rund 160 neuen Publikationen (Bücher, Zeitschriften, geographische Karten, Manuskripte, ikonographische Werke, elektronische Publikationen, etc.). Diese werden nach standardisierten Regeln in Online-Katalogen erschlossen und gehören damit offiziell zu den Sammlungen. In der Schweizerischen Nationalbibliographie „Das Schweizer Buch“ werden sämtliche schweizerischen Neuerscheinungen vierzehntäglich verzeichnet. Die Erhaltung der Originale hat Vorrang und wird durch adäquate Konservierungsmassnahmen und optimale Archivräume sichergestellt.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit nationalen und internationalen Partnern hat hohe Priorität. Der Austausch von Wissen und Erfahrung in Gemeinschaftsprojekten, Arbeitsgruppen, Fachverbänden, Aus- und Weiterbildungsveranstaltungen und Tagungen ist unerlässlich für eine zukunftsgerichtete Entwicklung des Bibliothekswesens im elektronischen Zeitalter.

Die NB bildet zukünftige Berufsleute in den Bereichen Information und Dokumentation, Fotografie, Konservierung und Buchbinderei aus. Sie beteiligt sich aktiv an universitären Forschungsprojekten zum Thema Literatur.

Die NB betreibt das ISSN-Zentrum Schweiz. Die „International Standard Serial Number (ISSN)“ ist ein international standardisierter Code, der es erlaubt, fortlaufende Publikationen eindeutig zu identifizieren. Die Dienstleistung richtet sich an die schweizerischen Zeitungs- und Zeitschriftenverlage.


Zuletzt aktualisiert am: 12.02.2014

Ende Inhaltsbereich

Volltextsuche

Anregungen und Kritik



http://www.nb.admin.ch/nb_professionnel/index.html?lang=de