Full-text search

Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator

Print     


Fundamentals

The Swiss National Library conserves documents in their original form because original documents have always had special value for mankind. It is hard to imagine that one could only consult a printed document such as "Froschauer" on digital format: a great number of experiences would no longer be possible, for example, you wouldn't be able to open the flat wooden clasps, you could no longer feel the engravings when touching a page, neither would you be able to smell the scent of leather which emanates from the binding. It is clear that an original document holds far more than just intellectual content.

It is for this reason that the NL has the legal obligation to keep the original formats. The lifespan of cultural items in our collection can be extended by using adequate conservation measures. The first measures are applied in the book stacks where documents are stored according to conservation standards for library documents. In spite of adequate conservation measures, some documents may be prone to deterioration because they are too fragile to be handled repeatedly or to be transported or else they react negatively to climatic variations. In these cases, the content of the document is copied on an alternative media (for example, newspapers which are digitised or copied onto microfilm); the new copy must then be used as a substitute to the original.

To preserve NL collections and conserve them in optimal conditions, it is necessary to follow and apply the most recent and up-to-date conservation and restoration measures.
To safeguard the library's collections, a disaster plan had been put in place to help staff react in a fast and efficient manner when faced with fire and water damages. The public  is also welcome to consult our professionals regarding conservation issues.

To be able to guarantee the quality of our conservation work we collaborate with the best in their field for example for paper deacidification we work with the Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Stuttgart, Studiengang Restaurierung und Konservierung von Graphik, Archiv- und Bibliotheksgut. Nitrochemie Wimmis AG has been an important partner in the paper deacidification project. Our commitment to the SIGEGS (Swiss Association for the the conservation of cultural library items and graphic works) is just another example of the importance the NL places in developing its conservation know-how.

The NL offers training programmes in bookbinding and preservation/restoration.
The following services deal with the conservation of library documents:

  • The conservation service, working in different areas such as Deacidification, Collection maintenance and Bookbinding
  • The e-Helvetica program
  • The Photo and Reprography Service.

Last updated on: 06.02.2014

End Content Area

Full-text search

Contacts

Swiss National Library
Preservation and Conservation
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern
T +41 58 465 00 12
F +41 58 462 84 63
E E-Mail

Further information

Links



http://www.nb.admin.ch/nb_professionnel/erhalten/00698/index.html?lang=en

Recherche plein texte

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur

Imprimer     


Les bases

La Bibliothèque nationale conserve les documents sous leur forme originale, car l'original a une valeur particulière pour nous les humains. Imaginez-vous ne pouvoir consulter un imprimé Froschauer que sous sa forme numérique: une quantité énorme d'expériences ne seraient plus possibles, vous ne pourriez plus ouvrir les fermoirs des plats en bois, vous ne pourriez plus sentir le relief de l'imprimé en passant le doigt sur la page, vous ne sentiriez plus l'odeur du cuir qui se dégage de la reliure. Ceci est un exemple de tout ce qui peut se trouver dans un document de bibliothèque, en plus du contenu intellectuel.

Pour cette raison, la BN est légalement tenue de conserver les orginaux. La durée de vie des biens culturels de notre collection doit être prolongée grâce à des mesures conservatoires. Les premières mesures interviennent dans des magasins de livres qui respectent les directives de conservation pour un entreposage correct des do-cuments de la bibliothèque. Il se peut que malgré toutes les mesures de conservation, certains originaux soient trop fragiles pour résister à l'utilisation, au transport ou aux changements de climat. Dans ce cas, le contenu de l'original est copié sur un média de substitution (p.ex.  le contenu de journaux est numérisé ou copié sur micro-film); le média de substitution doit alors être utilisé.

Pour s'occuper des fonds de la BN et les conserver de façon optimale, il est nécessaire de suivre et d'appliquer les connaissances les plus récentes en matière de conservation et de restauration. Pour pallier les dégâts dus au feu ou à l'eau, un concept de protection contre les catastrophes a été rédigé pour les documents de la Bibliothèque. De même, les personnes intéressées peuvent s'adresser en tout temps à nos experts pour obtenir des conseils sur des problèmes professionnels.

Afin d'être un partenaire attrayant pour des projets de coopération dans le domaine de la conservation, nous souhaitons gagner et maintenir une bonne renommée dans tous les domaines; pour ce faire, nous investissons des fonds dans la recherche et le développement. Dans le domaine de la garantie de qualité dans la désacidification du papier par exemple, nous travaillons avec la Akademie der Bildenden Künste à Stuttgart, Studiengang Restaurierung und Konservierung von Graphik, Archiv- und Bibliotheksgut. Nitrochemie Wimmis AG est un partenaire important pour nous lorsqu'il s'agit de réaliser et de perfectionner la désacidification du papier. Notre engagement dans le comité de la SIGEGS(Association suisse pour la conservation des biens culturels libraires, documentaires et d'oeuvres graphiques) montre que la BN attache beaucoup d'importance à un accès large au savoir conservatoire.

La BN propose des formations dans les domaines de la reliure et de la conservation/restauration.

Les domaines suivants traitent de la conservation des documents de la bibliothèque:

  • le service Conservation, avec les domaines Désacidification, Entretien des fonds et Reliure
  • le programme e-Helvetica
  • le service Photographie et reprographie.

Dernière mise à jour le: 06.02.2014

Fin secteur de contenu

Recherche plein texte

Contacts

Bibliothèque nationale suisse
Conservation
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Berne
T +41 58 465 00 12
F +41 58 462 84 63
E Courriel

Informations complémentaires

Liens



http://www.nb.admin.ch/nb_professionnel/erhalten/00698/index.html?lang=fr