Swiss National Library NL

This version is for browsers with a low level of support for CSS, and is des

Home Language Selection



Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator

Print     


e-Helvetica

Collecting and archiving digital publications

The Swiss National Library (NL) has the legal mandate to collect, list, conserve and make available information on and about Switzerland (Helvetica), in print form or stored on other media. This mandate includes „digitally born" publications such as, for example, e-Books, e-Journals und Websites.

The NL started the e-Helvetica project in 2001, the „e" standing for electronic and „Helvetica" for publications relating to Switzerland. There were two main goals in the project: to build up a collection of digital Helvetica and to set up an IT system to archive these digital Helvetica.

It was decided to collect different types of digital objects to constitute the collection, which thus today comprises four collection components with different contents:

  • Digital Theses (both dissertations and postdoctoral)
  • Digital publications produced by publishers
  • Official publications of the Swiss Confederation in digital form
  • Cultural heritage websites (Web Archive Switzerland)

The OAIS reference model (Open Archival Information System) was selected as the basic structure for the computer system designed for archiving the material. The individual components were designed to be modular and put into operation in stages.


Structure of e-Helvetica
© NL
e-Helvetica is a service in the NL since April 2012. The e-Helvetica service is responsible for the continued development of the digital collection as well as for the registration, cataloguing and indexing, long-term preservation and provision of material. The Digital Archiving service supports e-Helvetica in the technical implementation of these tasks.

The long-term storage and delivery of digital media is especially challenging. As a Swiss library, the NL strives to work with other Swiss cantonal or university libraries in this (and other) fields. As a national library, it has established contacts with the Swiss book and information market. Internationally, it operates primarily in conjunction with other national libraries, which have similar mandates.

Strategic plan 2009-2015

After evaluating the situation of e-Helvetica at the end of 2008, a strategic plan was set up for 2009-2015.


Last updated on: 25.07.2012

End Content Area

Full-text search

Contacts

Swiss National Library
e-Helvetica
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern
E E-Mail

Further information

Type: PDF
This document contains the evaluation of the situation (end of 2008) of e-Helvetica and the strategic plan 2009-2015.
07.07.2009 | 198 kb | PDF
Type: PDF
17.07.2012 | 145 kb | PDF

Links



Swiss National Library NL
Contact | Legal framework
http://www.nb.admin.ch/nb_professionnel/01693/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur

Imprimer     


e-Helvetica

Collection et archivage de publications électroniques

La Bibliothèque nationale suisse (BN) a pour mandat légal de collectionner, de répertorier, de conserver et de rendre accessibles les informations imprimées ou stockées sur d'autres supports que le papier, ayant un lien avec la Suisse. Ce mandat inclut donc également les publications nées numériques ("digitally born") comme par exemple les e-books, les e-journals et les sites web.

En 2001, la BN a lancé le projet e-Helvetica: „e" comme électronique et "Helvetica" pour les publications ayant un lien avec la Suisse. Les deux objectifs principaux étaient d'une part de constituer une collection d'Helvetica numériques et d'autre part de mettre sur pied un système informatique pour l'archivage des Helvetica numériques.

Il a été décidé de collecter différents types d'objets pour constituer la collection, qui se compose aujourd'hui de quatre parties distinctes de par leur contenu:

  • thèses numériques (thèses et thèses d'habilitation)
  • publications commerciales numériques
  • publications officielles numériques de la Confédération
  • sites web d'importance patrimoniale (Archives Web Suisse)

C'est le modèle de référence OAIS (Open Archival Information System) qui a servi de base à la mise sur pied du système informatique pour l'archivage. Les différentes composantes ont été développées de façon modulaire et mises en service les unes après les autres.


Structure de e-Helvetica
© BN
Depuis avril 2012, e-Helvetica est un service au sein de la BN. Le service e-Helvetica est responsable de la constitution de la collection numérique ainsi que du catalogage, de l'archivage à long terme et de la mise à disposition de cette dernière. Le service Archivage numérique soutient e-Helvetica dans la réalisation technique de ces tâches.

Le défi se situe surtout au niveau de la conservation et de la mise à disposition durables des publications numériques. En tant que bibliothèque suisse, la BN recherche la collaboration avec d'autres bibliothèques suisses de niveau cantonal ou universitaire. En sa qualité de bibliothèque nationale, elle a des contacts établis avec le marché suisse du livre et de l'information. Au niveau international, elle collabore avant tout avec d'autres bibliothèques nationales ayant un mandat comparable.

Dernière mise à jour le: 09.02.2016

Fin secteur de contenu

Recherche plein texte



http://www.nb.admin.ch/nb_professionnel/01693/index.html?lang=fr