Swiss National Library NL

This version is for browsers with a low level of support for CSS, and is des

Home Language Selection



Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator

Print     


e-Helvetica

Collecting and archiving digital publications

The Swiss National Library (NL) has the legal mandate to collect, list, conserve and make available information on and about Switzerland (Helvetica), in print form or stored on other media. This mandate includes „digitally born" publications such as, for example, e-Books, e-Journals und Websites.

The NL started the e-Helvetica project in 2001, the „e" standing for electronic and „Helvetica" for publications relating to Switzerland. There were two main goals in the project: to build up a collection of digital Helvetica and to set up an IT system to archive these digital Helvetica.

It was decided to collect different types of digital objects to constitute the collection, which thus today comprises four collection components with different contents:

  • Digital Theses (both dissertations and postdoctoral)
  • Digital publications produced by publishers
  • Official publications of the Swiss Confederation in digital form
  • Cultural heritage websites (Web Archive Switzerland)

The OAIS reference model (Open Archival Information System) was selected as the basic structure for the computer system designed for archiving the material. The individual components were designed to be modular and put into operation in stages.


Structure of e-Helvetica
© NL
e-Helvetica is a service in the NL since April 2012. The e-Helvetica service is responsible for the continued development of the digital collection as well as for the registration, cataloguing and indexing, long-term preservation and provision of material. The Digital Archiving service supports e-Helvetica in the technical implementation of these tasks.

The long-term storage and delivery of digital media is especially challenging. As a Swiss library, the NL strives to work with other Swiss cantonal or university libraries in this (and other) fields. As a national library, it has established contacts with the Swiss book and information market. Internationally, it operates primarily in conjunction with other national libraries, which have similar mandates.

Strategic plan 2009-2015

After evaluating the situation of e-Helvetica at the end of 2008, a strategic plan was set up for 2009-2015.


Last updated on: 25.07.2012

End Content Area

Full-text search

Contacts

Swiss National Library
e-Helvetica
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern
E E-Mail

Further information

Type: PDF
This document contains the evaluation of the situation (end of 2008) of e-Helvetica and the strategic plan 2009-2015.
07.07.2009 | 198 kb | PDF
Type: PDF
17.07.2012 | 145 kb | PDF

Links



Swiss National Library NL
Contact | Legal framework
http://www.nb.admin.ch/nb_professionnel/01693/index.html?lang=en

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator

Drucken zu Facebook    


e-Helvetica

Sammlung und Archivierung von digitalen Publikationen

Die Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek (NB) hat den gesetzlichen Auftrag, sowohl gedruckte als auch auf anderen Informationsträgern gespeicherte Informationen, die einen Bezug zur Schweiz haben, zu sammeln, zu erschliessen, zu erhalten und zu vermitteln. Der Auftrag schliesst somit auch digital entstandene Publikationen („digitally born") mit ein. Das sind z.B. e-Books, e-Journals und Websites.

2001 startete die NB das Projekt e-Helvetica. „e" steht für elektronisch und „Helvetica" für Publikationen mit Bezug zur Schweiz. Es wurden hauptsächlich zwei Projektziele verfolgt: einerseits sollte eine Sammlung digitaler Helvetica aufgebaut werden, und andererseits sollte ein Informatiksystem für die Archivierung der digitalen Helvetica aufgebaut werden.

Beim Aufbau der Sammlung wurde beschlossen, verschiedene Objekttypen zu sammeln. Heute besteht die Sammlung aus vier inhaltlich unterschiedlichen Sammlungsteilen:

  • Digitale Hochschulschriften (Dissertationen und Habilitationen)
  • Digitale Verlagspublikationen
  • Amtliche digitale Publikationen der Eidgenossenschaft
  • Landeskundlich relevanten Websites (Webarchiv Schweiz)

Beim Aufbau des Informatiksystems für die Archivierung wurde das Referenzmodell OAIS (Open Archival Information System) als Grundlage genommen. Die einzelnen Komponenten wurden modular entwickelt und nach und nach in Betrieb genommen.


Struktur e-Helvetica
© NB
Seit April 2012 ist e-Helvetica ein Dienst in der NB. Der Dienst e-Helvetica ist für den kontinuierlichen Aufbau der digitalen Sammlung sowie für deren Erschliessung, Langzeitarchivierung und Bereitstellung zuständig. Der Dienst Digitale Archivierung unterstützt e-Helvetica bei der technischen Umsetzung dieser Aufgaben.

Besonders die dauerhafte Aufbewahrung und Bereitstellung der digitalen Publikationen ist herausfordernd. Als schweizerische Bibliothek bemüht sich die NB um die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen schweizerischen Bibliotheken auf kantonaler oder universitärer Ebene. Als Nationalbibliothek hat sie etablierte Kontakte zum schweizerischen Buch- und Informationsmarkt. International arbeitet sie vor allem mit anderen Nationalbibliotheken zusammen, die einen vergleichbaren Auftrag haben.

Zuletzt aktualisiert am: 09.02.2016

Ende Inhaltsbereich



http://www.nb.admin.ch/nb_professionnel/01693/index.html?lang=de