Swiss National Library NL

This version is for browsers with a low level of support for CSS, and is des

Home Language Selection



Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator

Print     


Archiving

The archiving process is comprised of two elements. The first, the Ingest system, prepares the data for archiving and ensures that the accompanying descriptive information (metadata) is also available. The second element is the archiving system itself (repository) in which the digital publications are stored with their metadata. It is essential that the metadata also be listed in a catalogue accessible to users.

OAIS

The Swiss National Library (NL) has set up its digital repository according to the Reference Model for an Open Archival Information System (OAIS) conceived by the Consultative Committee for Space Data Systems.

Ingest

The process which handles the data from the producer or the source of data available on the Internet to the actual deposit in the repository is called Ingest.

Harvesting

Harvesting refers to the collecting of web sites off the Internet. When a site is harvested, special programmes, in general operating on a server, ensure that all the links emanating from a page are followed and that all the files included in the collection domain are downloaded.

Quality assurance

A reliable quality assurance of web sites can only be achieved using a technical instrument capable of analysing in detail and signalling errors in the documents collected from the Internet. The International Internet Preservation Consortium (IIPC) is in the process of developing such an instrument. Until this instrument is available, quality assurance must be done manually and therefore is rather rudimentary.
The aim of quality assurance is not to control the quality of the web site itself but rather to control the quality of the collecting process.
At the moment, the NL stores the web sites collected in a closed web environment where it carries out systematic manual controls.
The arrival of a new generation of harvesters for the collection of web sites along with the introduction of a new and improved data format Web Archive (WARC) specially developed for the preservation of web sites will greatly improve the process of quality assurance. The tools, which are being developed at the moment, are based on the WARC format.
The process of quality assurance is described in the information sheet Archiving of Web Archive Switzerland.

Metadata

As there was no need to invest resources and develop its own metadata architecture, the NL uses existing XML formats. For the internal structure of the metadata, the NL uses the container METS which is maintained by the Library of Congress. MARCXML is integrated into this container for bibliographic records. MARCXML is also maintained by the Library of Congress and is compatible with MARC21, the structure of metadata in Helveticat. In the schema «Preservation Metadata» developed by the National Library of New Zealand, the non-bibliographic (technical and administrative) metadata is also integrated in the METS container.

Persistent identifiers

A persistent identifier (unique identifier) must fulfil two requirements:
- be a unique identifier for each and every document in the repository
- be a stable reference to an online data source (links have proven to be highly unstable)
The NL decided to use Uniform Resource Names (URN) in the form of National Bibliography Numbers (NBN) because the URN fulfils both requirements mentioned above.
In the context of the collaboration between the Deutsche Nationalbibliothek (DNB) and the NL, the NL can use the URN resolver of the DNB to transform URNs into links.

Data storage

Infrastructure for digital archiving previously consisted of two tape drives. This was replaced at the beginning of 2009 with the long-term storage system Ninive, which essentially consists of a redundant NAS (Network Attached Storage) system from NetWork Appliance. Both system components, each with a 9 TB storage capacity, operate in two locations in Bern, about 4.5 km away from each other. Automatic synchronisation of the data between both system components ensures that the stored data available at both locations is complete. At the secondary location, a third copy of the data is stored on magnetic tape using an IBM tape drive. This third copy is stored separately.

Last updated on: 17.12.2010

End Content Area

Full-text search

Further information

Type: PDF
The information sheet Archiving describes how web sites submitted by the various cantonal libraries are processed and stored in the system of the Swiss National Library. Thereby the following steps of the process are described: harvesting, quality assurance, the process of the metadata, the allocation of the URN and data storage.
03.10.2013 | 647 kb | PDF

Links



Swiss National Library NL
Contact | Legal framework
http://www.nb.admin.ch/nb_professionnel/01693/01696/01709/index.html?lang=en

Bibliothèque nationale suisse BN

La présente édition est conçue pour les navigateurs sans soutien CSS suffisant et s'adresse en priorité aux malvoyants. Tous les contenus peuvent également être visualisés à l'aide de navigateurs plus anciens. Pour une meilleure visualisation graphique, il est toutefois recommandé d'utiliser un navigateur plus moderne comme Mozilla 1,4 ou Internet Explorer 6.

Début sélection langue



Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur

Imprimer     


Archivage

Le processus de l'archivage se compose de deux éléments. D'une part, il s'agit du système Ingest, qui prépare les données pour l'archivage et assure que les informations descriptives qui les accompagnent (métadonnées) soient également à disposition. D'autre part, il s'agit du système d'archivage lui-même (mémoire), dans lequel sont stockées les publications numériques avec leurs métadonnées. Il est important que les métadonnées soient aussi répertoriées dans un catalogue qui soit à disposition des utilisateurs/trices.

OAIS

Pour réaliser un système d'archivage d'informations électroniques, la Bibliothèque nationale suisse (BN) suit le modèle de référence pour un système ouvert d'archivage d'informations (OAIS) élaboré par le Consultative Committee for Space Data Systems.

Ingest

On appelle processus Ingest, le processus allant de la prise en charge des données du fournisseur ou de la source de données accessible par Internet jusqu’au stockage dans le système d'archives.

Harvesting

Le harvesting désigne la collecte de sites web de l'Internet. Au moment du harvesting, des programmes spéciaux tournant en général sur un serveur font en sorte que tous les liens partant d'une page de départ soient suivis et que les fichiers se trouvant dans le domaine de collection défini soient téléchargés.

Gestion de la qualité

Une gestion fiable de la qualité des sites web ne peut être obtenue qu'à l'aide d'un instrument technique qui analyse en détail les documents recueillis et signale d'éventuelles erreurs. Il est prévu de développer un tel instrument dans le cadre de IIPC (International Internet Preservation Consortium). En attendant que cet instrument puisse être utilisé, la gestion de la qualité doit inévitablement être faite manuellement, si bien qu'elle ne pourra être que rudimentaire.
La gestion de la qualité ne vise pas à contrôler la qualité d'un site web dans l'Internet, mais la qualité du processus de collecte.
Pour l'instant, la BN entrepose les sites web recueillis dans un environnement web fermé et y accède pour procéder à des contrôles manuels systématiques.
Avec l'arrivée prévue d'une nouvelle génération de harvesters pour la collecte des sites web, qui va de pair avec l'introduction du format amélioré de données WARC (Web Archive), spécifiquement développé pour la conservation de sites web, les possibilités de contrôle vont nettement s'améliorer. Les outils futurs, qui sont en cours de développement, se basent directement sur le format WARC.
Le processus de la gestion de qualité est décrit dans la notice Archivage d’Archives Web Suisse.

Métadonnées

La BN n'a pas développé sa propre structure de métadonnées, mais elle utilise des formats existants en XML. Elle n'a donc pas besoin de s'investir pour développer la structure de métadonnées. Pour la structure interne de métadonnées, la BN utilise le container METS, qui est tenu à jour par la Library of Congress. MARCXML est intégré dans ce container pour les données bibliographiques. MARCXML est également tenu à jour par la Library of Congress et il est compatible avec MARC21, la structure de métadonnées de Helveticat. Dans le schéma «Preservation Metadata» développé par la National Library of New Zealand, les métadonnées non bibliographiques (techniques et administratives) sont également intégrées dans le container METS.

Persistent identifiers

Un persistent identifier (identificateur univoque) doit répondre à deux besoins:
- identification univoque des documents d'archives
- renvoi stable à une source de données disponible en ligne (les liens se sont avérés très inconstants.)
La BN a décidé d'utiliser des Uniform Resource Names (URN) sous la forme de National Bibliography Numbers (NBN), car l'URN répond aux besoins énumérés ci-dessus. Dans le cadre de sa collaboration avec la Deutsche Nationalbibliothek (DNB), la BN peut utiliser le résolveur d'URN de la DNB pour transformer les URN en liens.

Stockage des données

Précédemment, l'infrastructure pour l'archivage numérique se composait de deux robots à cassettes. Cette infrastructure a été remplacée par la mémoire à long terme Ninive au début de l'année 2009. Pour l’essentiel, cette mémoire de stockage se compose d’un système NAS redondant (Network Attached Storage) de l’entreprise NetWork Appliance. Les deux composantes du système, d’une capacité de 9 TB de mémoire chacune, se trouvent à deux emplacements à Berne distants d’environ 4,5 km. Une synchronisation automatisée des données entre les deux composantes du système fait en sorte que les données stockées aux deux emplacements soient complètes. A l’emplacement secondaire, une troisième copie des données est faite sur bande magnétique via un lecteur à bandes IBM. Cette troisième copie est conservée séparément.

Dernière mise à jour le: 17.12.2010

Fin secteur de contenu

Recherche plein texte

Informations complémentaires

Typ: PDF
La notice Archivage décrit comment les sites web annoncés par les bibliothèques cantonales sont traités et conservés. Les étapes suivantes du processus sont décrites: le téléchargement (harvesting), la gestion de la qualité, le traitement des métadonnées, l’attribution d’un URN et le stockage des données.
03.10.2013 | 577 kb | PDF

Liens



Bibliothèque nationale suisse BN
Contact | Informations juridiques
http://www.nb.admin.ch/nb_professionnel/01693/01696/01709/index.html?lang=fr