Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator

Print     


FAQs on web archiving

General

WHY IS THE SWISS NATIONAL LIBRARY ARCHIVING THE WEB?
The Swiss National Library's mandate is to collect and archive cultural heritage and make it accessible. That includes preserving digital knowledge for the future. Together with the Swiss cantonal libraries and other special libraries, the Swiss National Library is pursuing the aim of preserving parts of the Swiss Internet in the form of Web Archive Switzerland

WHAT STRATEGIES IS THE SWISS NATIONAL LIBRARY USING FOR WEB ARCHIVING?
The Swiss National Library has decided to take a selective approach. The focus is on freely accessible websites of patrimonial importance that have a close connection to Switzerland: for example, websites on the cantons and communes and on certain specialist areas, such as the social sciences and Swiss literature. The selection is primarily made by the Swiss cantonal libraries and other special libraries. Special collections are created to cover particular events that take place in Switzerland: websites that document an occasion such as the federal elections of 2011 are collected and archived. The idea is that the selected websites should provide the most meaningful snapshots possible of the Swiss web and preserve them for posterity. The selection criteria are described in detail in the "Collect" information sheet (in German). The National Library is not currently engaging in domain harvesting (top-level domain .ch).
IS THE SWISS NATIONAL LIBRARY PERMITTED TO ARCHIVE MY WEBSITE?
The Swiss National Library has the legal mandate to collect, list, and make available information on and about Switzerland, in print form or in electronic publications such as e-books and websites, and preserve it for the long term. The National Library informs website operators by e-mail or letter that it plans to "harvest" their website. In this way, operators have the opportunity to make their views known on the planned archiving of their website.
WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE FROM THE INTERNET ARCHIVE?
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organisation that was founded in 1996 in the US with the aim of giving researchers worldwide access to historical digital collections.  Web Archive Switzerland only collects and archives websites from the .ch domain or websites with a close connection to Switzerland.

IS THE WEB ARCHIVE EXPLOITED COMMERCIALLY?
The joint web archive of the Swiss National Library, the Swiss cantonal libraries and additional special libraries is used for historical purposes and is not commercially exploited.  Web Archive Switzerland is available to users on the premises of the National Library and those of partner libraries free of charge.

CAN USERS MISTAKE THE ARCHIVED VERSION OF MY WEBSITE FOR THE CURRENT VERSION?
Access to the websites is only possible on the premises of the Swiss National Library and its partner libraries, and not on the Internet. In addition, archive copies are clearly labelled as such. It is therefore virtually impossible for any confusion to occur.

WHO MUST I CONTACT FOR MORE INFORMATION ON WEB ARCHIVING AND WEB ARCHIVE SWITZERLAND?
The Coordination Office for Web Archive Switzerland will be happy to deal with any further questions, suggestions or criticisms.
HOW CAN I AS A WEBSITE OPERATOR SUPPORT WEB ARCHIVE SWITZERLAND?
The aim is to archive a snapshot of a website at regular intervals. Websites are not always designed in such a way that the harvester can collect them in their entirety. One key feature of a crawler-friendly website is links in HTML or XHTML format that are not embedded in Flash or JavaScript. Alternative navigation options via a text-based version or sitemap are also helpful. If you are interested in receiving further information, please contact the Coordination Office for Web Archive Switzerland.
WHAT IS THE SWISS NATIONAL LIBRARY DOING TO ENSURE THAT THE WEBSITES CAN CONTINUE TO BE CONSULTED IN FUTURE?
The long-term preservation module of the OAIS reference model, which the Swiss National Library uses as the basis for archiving of electronic publications, is still in the project phase. The project is currently drawing up measures to preserve the readability and interpretability of electronic information. For the Swiss National Library to guarantee full readability and interpretability in future, when archiving electronic publications the data storage media and system environment must also be taken into account, as well as preserving the information itself.

Collection

DOES WEB ARCHIVE SWITZERLAND CONTAIN ALL SWISS WEBSITES?
The Swiss National Library has decided to engage in selective harvesting. The challenge here is to identify characteristic, representative websites from among the large number in existence. The Web Archive Switzerland collection mainly consists of Swiss websites that are of patrimonial importance. It is the task of the partner libraries (Swiss cantonal libraries and other special libraries) to make a sensible and representative selection from what is offered by their cantons and specialist areas, on the basis of jointly drawn up collection guidelines (see the "Collect" information sheet, in German).
WHO SELECTS THE WEBSITES?
The websites are selected by Web Archive Switzerland's partner libraries, i.e. the Swiss cantonal libraries and other special libraries, on the basis of jointly drawn up collection guidelines (see the "Collect" information sheet, in German).
I AM DESIGNING A NEW WEBSITE - CAN I APPLY TO HAVE IT ARCHIVED?
Only the partner libraries (the Swiss cantonal libraries and other special libraries) can select and submit websites for the Web Archive Switzerland collection. However, you are welcome to notify the Coordination Office for Web Archive Switzerland at the Swiss National Library of the URL. The Coordination Office will forward the proposal to the partner library responsible. On the basis of the collection criteria ("Collect" information sheet), a decision will then be taken on whether the website will be included in Web Archive Switzerland.
MY WEBSITE HAS A PASSWORD-PROTECTED AREA - WILL THIS ALSO BE ARCHIVED?
Only websites that are published and made accessible freely on the Internet are collected and archived in Web Archive Switzerland. Intranets and private data to which access is protected, for example, are not archived.

Harvesting and archiving

HOW DOES WEB ARCHIVING WORK? WHAT SOFTWARE IS USED?
For its harvesting, the Swiss National Library uses the open source software Heritrix, which is the most widely used around the globe for web archiving. The open source software PhantomJS also assists the crawler in identifying all the relevant links. The Heritrix crawler follows the links within a website and harvests all the files it finds. The aim is to archive a version of the website that is as comprehensive as possible and is displayed correctly. Pages that are password-protected and links to other sites are not collected. Access to the harvested website is by means of the Wayback Machine.

IS THE HARVESTING AND ARCHIVING OF WEBSITES A SIMPLE MATTER, OR ARE THERE TECHNICAL LIMITATIONS?
Web archiving is still in its infancy. It is therefore possible that a website cannot be archived for technical reasons, even though it would meet the Web Archive Switzerland collection criteria. As the tools are further improved, the quality of the crawls will also continually improve. In addition, the Swiss National Library is a member of the IIPC (International Internet Preservation Consortium) and is therefore involved in a constant exchange with other memory institutions around the world that carry out web archiving.

WHY ARE SOME WEBSITES MORE DIFFICULT TO ARCHIVE THAN OTHERS?
Large quantities of data, missing content or menu functions, Flash animations, dynamic script-based functions and crawler traps such as calendars or maps can make archiving more difficult. Librarians decide on whether or not a website is to be included. An attempt to obtain a better quality snapshot is made at a later date. However, websites can be archived despite quality issues so that at least they are documented. If a website is incorrectly displayed, this may also be due to shortcomings in the current version of the Wayback Machine. For this reason, the latest version of the tools is used for web archiving wherever possible.
Type: PDF
Webarchiv Schweiz : Glossar, Version 1.6, 05.02.2016 (in German)
The glossary contains the professional vocabulary as well as the abbreviations used in the information sheets of Web Archive Switzerland.
Last modification: 09.02.2016 | Size: 85 kb | Type: PDF

WHY HAVE I RECEIVED AN E-MAIL/LETTER HEADED "ARCHIVING YOUR WEBSITE"?
The Swiss National Library sends an e-mail or letter to all website operators whose sites have been selected for Web Archive Switzerland. It explains the goals being pursued by Web Archive Switzerland, how websites are harvested, and whom to contact if you have questions or want more information. You do not have to reply, unless you intend to refuse to allow the archiving of your website.

HOW OFTEN DOES THE SWISS NATIONAL LIBRARY HARVEST WEBSITES?
Normally a website is harvested once a year. Other possibilities are for it to be harvested only once, every 4 years, every 2 years and every 6 months. The interval is very much dependent on the content concerned and can be set individually for each website. For special collections, the event is the key criterion, and the interval is adjusted accordingly.

DO I HAVE TO PREPARE MY WEBSITE FOR WEB ARCHIVING?
No preparation of any kind by the website operator is needed. Nor is it necessary to update the website before harvesting. Normally a selected website is archived regularly (for example once a year). This allows the changes that the website has undergone over the years to be documented.
HOW MUCH LOAD DOES THE CRAWLER PLACE ON MY SERVER?
The web crawler operated by the Swiss National Library is configured so that the server load is kept to the minimum. If technical problems nevertheless arise due to web harvesting, please contact the Coordination Office for Web Archive Switzerland.
WHY ARE ROBOTS.TXT AND ROBOTS META TAGS IGNORED BY THE CRAWLER?
If robots.txt and robots meta tags were taken into account when harvesting, there would be a risk that the website obtained would not be complete and that its layout would not be reproduced correctly. To avoid this, robots.txt and robots meta tags are ignored.
Type: PDF
Webarchiv Schweiz : Glossar, Version 1.6, 05.02.2016 (in German)
The glossary contains the professional vocabulary as well as the abbreviations used in the information sheets of Web Archive Switzerland.
Last modification: 09.02.2016 | Size: 85 kb | Type: PDF

IS A CHARGE MADE FOR ARCHIVING MY WEBSITE?
There is no charge to the website operator for archiving.

I DO NOT WANT THE SWISS NATIONAL LIBRARY TO ARCHIVE MY WEBSITE. WHAT CAN I DO?
If you are a website operator and you have been notified by the Swiss National Library that your website is going to be harvested and archived, you can contact the Coordination Office for Web Archive Switzerland and advise them of your concerns. Harvesting will then be stopped if it has already begun, or not started if it has not. However, it is important for the Swiss National Library and its partner libraries as well as for future researchers that as many websites related to Switzerland as possible are harvested and archived. This allows the historical value of the web archive to be maintained over the long term.
WHAT HAPPENS TO THE WEBSITES AFTER THE HARVESTER HAS COLLECTED THEM?
After harvesting, the quality of the collection process is checked. The Swiss National Library places the harvested websites in a closed web environment and accesses it to systematically carry out manual testing processes. If the quality is deemed to be satisfactory, the archiving process is continued. If not, harvesting is repeated using different harvester settings.
HOW ARE THE HARVESTED WEBSITES FILED AND ARCHIVED?
The ingest system prepares the data for archiving and ensures that the associated metadata are available in the Swiss National Library catalogue (Helveticat). The websites are stored together with their metadata in the long-term archive. Overwriting or deletion of the information stored in the long-term archive is not permitted. The data is secured by means of backups which are stored at two separate locations in Bern. Automatic data replication ensures that the stored data are available in their entirety at both locations. Additionally, a third copy of the data is created at the secondary location using an IBM tape drive. This copy is stored separately.
CAN THE SWISS NATIONAL LIBRARY HOST MY WEBSITE TOO?
No, website operators are still responsible for the hosting of their websites. Regular harvesting provides only snapshots of a website that are archived individually and then can be used for research purposes.

Use

WILL I FIND MY WEBSITE IN THE HELVETICAT CATALOGUE?
When a website is archived, a corresponding entry is made in the Swiss National Library's Helveticat catalogue. All archived websites are indexed and can be found in Helveticat. There is a direct link to the digital collections (e-Helvetica Access). However, no entry is made in The Swiss Book, the national bibliography of the Swiss National Library.
HOW CAN I ACCESS THE ARCHIVED WEBSITES?
Archived websites may be researched and displayed in e-Helvetica Access, the access system for the digital collections. For legal reasons, the web archive can only be accessed on the premises of the Swiss National Library and those of its partner libraries.
WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN HELVETICAT AND E-HELVETICA ACCESS?
Helveticat is the online catalogue of the Swiss National Library. It lists both printed and electronic publications.

e-Helvetica Access is the access system for the digital collections of the Swiss National Library. In addition to websites, e-books, e-journals as well as university and official publications in electronic form are also listed. It is also possible to consult printed works that have subsequently been digitised.
I'M LOOKING FOR WEB SITES. HOW DO I SEARCH FOR THEM?
You can search for websites not only in the Helveticat online catalogue, but also in e-Helvetica Access, the digital collections access system.
In Helveticat you can search using an extraction code, a URL, a Dewey number or by language. A detailed explanation can be found in the website search guide. E-Helvetica Access offers a special search for websites (Web Archive). You will find more information for each search using the e-Helvetica Access help text (buoy symbol).

WHY CAN'T I VIEW THE ARCHIVED WEBSITE FROM HOME?
The availability of the websites is governed by the law. Websites are subject to copyright and can only be consulted in the public rooms of the Swiss National Library.

CAN I PRINT OUT WEBSITES?
For copyright reasons, access to the archived time slices must be restricted. For this reason, reproduction in any form - saving to media, printing out, etc. - is not permitted.

WHY IS THE SWISS NATIONAL LIBRARY COLLECTING MY WEBSITE? WHY NOT JUST USE GOOGLE?
The Swiss National Library has a legal mandate to collect electronic publications that relate to Switzerland. The aim of Web Archive Switzerland is not to provide an additional way of accessing information that is currently on your website, but to document the changes that websites undergo over the years and decades. In 2025, for example, it would provide access to your website as it looked in 2015. To this end, we regularly collect a "copy" of all the selected websites. These copies enable us to record how websites change over the years.

WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES FOR MY COMMUNE IF OUR WEBSITE IS ARCHIVED BY THE SWISS NATIONAL LIBRARY?
On the basis of its legal mandate, the Swiss National Library has set itself the goal of compiling a selective collection of Swiss websites that are of patrimonial importance. By allowing us to include your website in Web Archive Switzerland, you help us to build up an interesting collection that can serve as the basis for historical research. Additionally, the time slice of your website is archived long-term without any cost or workload for you. This enables changes in content and visual design to be documented over the years.
Back to overview Websites

End Content Area

Full-text search

Contacts

Swiss National Library
Coordination Office for Web Archive Switzerland
e-Helvetica
E E-Mail


http://www.nb.admin.ch/nb_professionnel/01693/01695/01705/03333/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur

Imprimer     


FAQ sur l’archivage web

Généralités

POURQUOI LA BIBLIOTHEQUE NATIONALE SUISSE ARCHIVE-T-ELLE LE WEB ?
La Bibliothèque nationale suisse a pour mandat de collectionner, d'archiver et de rendre accessible le patrimoine culturel. Ce mandat inclut également la sauvegarde du savoir numérique pour les générations futures. Dans le cadre des Archives Web Suisse qu'elle constitue en collaboration avec les bibliothèques cantonales suisses et d'autres bibliothèques spécialisées, la Bibliothèque nationale suisse se fixe pour objectif de conserver des parties de l'"internet suisse".

QUELLES STRATEGIES LA BIBLIOTHEQUE NATIONALE SUISSE APPLIQUE-T-ELLE POUR L'ARCHIVAGE DU WEB ?
La Bibliothèque nationale suisse a opté pour une stratégie sélective. Elle met l'accent sur les sites web patrimoniaux qui ont un fort lien avec la Suisse et qui sont accessibles librement : sites web sur les cantons et les communes, domaines spécifiques tels que sciences sociales ou littérature suisse. Ce sont avant tout les bibliothèques cantonales et d'autres bibliothèques spécialisées qui sélectionnent les sites web. Des collections spéciales sont constituées à l'occasion de manifestations spéciales qui ont lieu en Suisse : les sites web concernant un évènement comme les élections fédérales de 2011 sont alors collectés et archivés. La sélection de sites web permet de créer des instantanés du web suisse et de les enregistrer pour la postérité. Les critères de sélection sont décrits en détail dans la notice Collecte. La Bibliothèque nationale renonce pour l'instant à un harvesting du domaine .ch.
LA BIBLIOTHEQUE NATIONALE SUISSE A-T-ELLE LE DROIT D'ARCHIVER MON SITE WEB?
La Bibliothèque nationale suisse a pour mandat légal de collectionner, de répertorier, de mettre à disposition et de conserver durablement les publications imprimées ainsi que les publications électroniques comme des e-books ou des sites web ayant un lien avec la Suisse. Les exploitants de sites web sont informés par mail ou par courrier de l'imminence du harvesting et ont donc la possibilité de réagir à l'archivage de leur site web.
QUELLE EST LA DIFFERENCE AVEC INTERNET ARCHIVE?
Internet Archive est une organisation à but non lucratif qui a été fondée en 1996 aux USA dans le but de faciliter aux chercheurs du monde entier l'accès aux collections historiques numériques. Archives Web Suisse collectionne et archive uniquement les sites web du domaine .ch ou les sites web ayant un fort lien avec la Suisse.
LES ARCHIVES WEB SONT-ELLES UTILISEES A DES FINS COMMERCIALES?
Les archives web communes de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse, des bibliothèques cantonales suisses et d'autres bibliothèques spécialisées servent à des fins historiques et ne sont pas utilisées à des fins commerciales. Archives Web Suisse est disponible gratuitement dans les locaux de la Bibliothèque nationale et des bibliothèques partenaires.

RISQUE-T-ON DE CONFONDRE LA VERSION D'ARCHIVE AVEC LA VERSION ACTUELLE DE MON SITE WEB?
L'accès aux sites web archivés n'est possible que dans les locaux de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse et des bibliothèques partenaires, et non pas par Internet. De plus, les copies d'archive sont clairement signalées comme telles. Une confusion est donc quasiment exclue.

OÙ DOIS-JE M'ADRESSER POUR OBTENIR PLUS D'INFORMATIONS SUR L'ARCHIVAGE WEB ET ARCHIVES WEB SUISSE?
Le service de coordination d'Archives Web Suisse se tient à votre disposition pour répondre à vos questions, suggestions et critiques.
COMMENT PUIS-JE SOUTENIR ARCHIVES WEB SUISSE EN TANT QU'EXPLOITANT D'UN SITE WEB?
Le but est d'archiver une copie d'un site web à intervalles réguliers. Les sites web ne se présentent pas toujours sous une forme qui permette au harvester de les collecter dans leur intégralité. Un site web facile à harvester se distingue notamment par des liens en format HTML ou XHTML qui ne sont pas intégrés dans Flash ou Javascript. D'autres possibilités de navigation par une version basée sur du texte ou un plan du site sont également une aide. Si vous souhaitez en savoir davantage, vous pouvez contacter le service de coordination d'Archives Web Suisse.
QUELLES ACTIONS LA BIBLIOTHEQUE NATIONALE SUISSE ENTREPREND-ELLE POUR QUE LES SITES WEB PUISSENT ENCORE ETRE CONSULTES DANS LE FUTUR?
Le module de conservation à long terme du modèle de référence OAIS, sur lequel se base la Bibliothèque nationale suisse pour l'archivage de publications électroniques, est encore au stade de projet. Ce projet élabore des mesures afin de conserver la lisibilité et l'interprétabilité des informations électroniques. Afin que la Bibliothèque nationale suisse puisse garantir une lisibilité et une interprétabilité complètes dans le futur, il faut non seulement conserver l'information au moment de l'archivage des publications électroniques, mais également prendre en compte les supports de données et l'environnement système.

Collection

TROUVE-T-ON TOUS LES SITES WEB SUISSES DANS ARCHIVES WEB SUISSE?
La Bibliothèque nationale suisse a opté pour un harvesting sélectif. Avec une telle approche, le défi est de sélectionner des sites web représentatifs dans la masse de sites web. La collection d'Archives Web Suisse se compose principalement de sites web patrimoniaux de la Suisse. Il est du ressort des bibliothèques partenaires (bibliothèques cantonales suisses et autres bibliothèques spécialisées) de faire un choix judicieux et représentatif des sites web de leurs cantons et de leurs domaines de spécialisation. La sélection se base sur des directives de collecte (notice Collecte) établies en commun.
QUI SELECTIONNE LES SITES WEB?
Le choix des sites web est fait par les bibliothèques partenaires d'Archives Web Suisse, c'est-à-dire par les bibliothèques cantonales suisses et d'autres bibliothèques spécialisées. La sélection se base sur des directives de collecte (notice Collecte) établies en commun.
JE CREE UN NOUVEAU SITE WEB ─ PUIS-JE L'ANNONCER POUR L'ARCHIVAGE?
Seules les bibliothèques partenaires (les bibliothèques cantonales suisses et d'autres bibliothèques spécialisées) peuvent sélectionner et annoncer des sites web pour la collection d'Archives Web Suisse. Vous pouvez cependant annoncer l'URL de votre site web au service de coordination d'Archives Web Suisse de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse, qui transmettra votre proposition à la bibliothèque compétente. La décision d'intégrer ou non le site web aux Archives Web Suisse sera prise sur la base des critères de collecte (notice Collecte).
MON SITE WEB COMPREND UN DOMAINE PROTEGE PAR MOT DE PASSE ─ CE DERNIER EST-IL AUSSI ARCHIVE?
Archives Web Suisse ne collecte et n'archive que des sites web publiés et accessibles librement par l'internet. Par exemple, les intranets ou les données privées d'accès protégé ne sont pas archivés.

Collecter et archiver

COMMENT FONCTIONNE L'ARCHIVAGE WEB? QUEL LOGICIEL EST UTILISE?
Pour le harvesting, la Bibliothèque nationale suisse utilise le logiciel open source Heritrix, qui est le plus utilisé dans le monde entier pour l'archivage du web. En plus, le logiciel open source PhantomJS aide le crawler à retrouver tous les liens pertinents. Le crawler Heritrix suit les liens d'une page web et collecte tous les fichiers trouvés. Le but est d'archiver une version du site web si possible complète et de présentation correcte. Les pages protégées par mot de passe ou les liens pointant sur des pages externes ne peuvent pas être collectés. L'accès au site web collecté se fait au moyen de la Wayback Machine.

EST-IL SIMPLE DE COLLECTER ET D'ARCHIVER DES SITES WEB, OU Y A-T-IL DES LIMITES TECHNIQUES?
L'archivage web en est encore à ses débuts. Il peut donc arriver qu'un site web ne puisse être archivé pour des raisons techniques, bien qu'il réponde aux critères de collecte d'Archives Web Suisse. Etant donné que les outils vont continuer de s'améliorer, la qualité des crawls va augmenter continuellement. De plus, la Bibliothèque nationale suisse est membre d'IIPC (International Internet Preservation Consortium) et échange constamment des informations avec des institutions patrimoniales du monde entier qui s'occupent d'archivage web.

POURQUOI CERTAINS SITES WEB SONT-ILS PLUS DIFFICILES A ARCHIVER QUE D'AUTRES?
L'archivage peut être plus difficile en cas de grandes quantités de données, de contenus ou de fonctions de menu manquants, d'animations flash, de fonctions dynamiques basées sur des scripts, de crawler traps comme des calendriers ou des cartes topographiques. Ces sont les bibliothécaires qui décident d'inclure ou non un site web. Ultérieurement, nous essayons de collecter un snapshot de meilleure qualité. Même si sa qualité est lacunaire, un site web peut quand même être archivé afin qu'il soit au moins enregistré. Une présentation visuellement lacunaire d'un site web est parfois aussi due aux manques de l'actuelle version de la Wayback Machine. Nous nous efforçons donc autant que possible d'utiliser la version la plus récente des outils d'archivage du web.
Typ: PDF
Archives Web Suisse : glossaire, version 1.6, 5 février 2016
Le glossaire contient le vocabulaire professionnel et les abréviations utilisés dans les notices des Archives Web Suisse.
Dernière modification: 09.02.2016 | Dimension: 142 kb | Typ: PDF

POURQUOI AI-JE RECU UN COURRIEL/UNE LETTRE AVEC L'OBJET „ARCHIVAGE DE VOTRE SITE WEB"?
La Bibliothèque nationale suisse envoie cette information à tous les exploitants de sites web dont le site web a été sélectionné pour Archives Web Suisse. Elle y mentionne les objectifs d'Archives Web Suisse, décrit le déroulement du harvesting et indique à qui vous adresser si vous avez des questions ou souhaitez d'autres informations. Une réponse n'est pas impérative, à moins que vous ne refusiez l'archivage de votre site web.
A QUELLE FREQUENCE LA BIBLIOTHEQUE NATIONALE SUISSE COLLECTE-T-ELLE LES SITES WEB?
En règle générale, le site web est collecté une fois par an. D'autres fréquences de collecte possibles sont: unique, tous les 4 ans, tous les 2 ans et tous les 6 mois. L'intervalle dépend fortement des contenus du site web et peut être déterminé individuellement pour chaque site web. Pour les collections spéciales, c'est l'événement qui est déterminant et l'intervalle est adapté en conséquence.

DOIS-JE PREPARER MON SITE WEB POUR L'ARCHIVAGE WEB?
L'exploitant du site web n'a rien besoin de préparer pour l'archivage web. Il n'est pas non plus nécessaire d'actualiser le site web avant le harvesting. En règle générale, un site web sélectionné est téléchargé régulièrement (par ex. 1x par année), ce qui permet de documenter son évolution au fil des années.
A QUEL POINT LE CRAWLER CHARGE-T-IL MON SERVEUR?
Le crawler web de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse est configuré de sorte à exercer la charge la plus faible possible sur le serveur. S'il devait toutefois y avoir des problèmes techniques à cause du web-harvesting, veuillez SVP contacter le service de coordination d'Archives Web Suisse:
POURQUOI ROBOTS.TXT ET LES META-TAGS ROBOTS SONT-ILS IGNORES PAR LE CRA-WLER?
Si l'on prend en compte robots.txt et les méta-tags robots lors du harvesting, l'on risque que le site web téléchargé ne soit pas complet et que sa présentation ne soit pas correcte. C'est pour éviter cela que robots.txt et les méta-tags robots ne sont pas pris en compte.
Typ: PDF
Archives Web Suisse : glossaire, version 1.6, 5 février 2016
Le glossaire contient le vocabulaire professionnel et les abréviations utilisés dans les notices des Archives Web Suisse.
Dernière modification: 09.02.2016 | Dimension: 142 kb | Typ: PDF

L'ARCHIVAGE DE MON SITE WEB M'EST-IL FACTURE?
L'archivage ne coûte rien à l'exploitant d'un site web.

JE NE SOUHAITE PAS QUE LA BIBLIOTHEQUE NATIONALE SUISSE ARCHIVE MON SITE WEB. QUE PUIS-JE FAIRE?
Si vous êtes exploitant d'un site web et que vous avez reçu de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse un message vous informant que votre site web va être téléchargé et archivé, vous pouvez vous adresser au service de coordination d'Archives Web Suisse et y déposer votre requête. Le harvesting est alors interrompu, autrement dit il n'est pas démarré du tout. Pour la Bibliothèque nationale suisse, pour les bibliothèques partenaires ainsi que pour les futurs chercheurs, il est toutefois important que le plus grand nombre possible de sites web ayant un rapport avec la Suisse puisse être collecté et archivé. C'est de cette façon que l'intérêt historique des archives web pourra être garanti à long terme.
QU'ARRIVE-T-IL AUX SITES WEB UNE FOIS COLLECTES PAR LE HARVESTER?
Après le harvesting, la qualité du processus de collecte est contrôlée. La Bibliothèque nationale suisse met les sites web collectés dans un environnement web fermé et y accède pour procéder à des tests manuels systématiques. Si la qualité est jugée suffisante, le processus d'archivage continue. Si la qualité est jugée insuffisante, les paramètres du harvester sont modifiés et l'on répète le harvesting.
COMMENT LES SITES WEB ANNONCES SONT-ILS STOCKES ET CONSERVES?
Le système Ingest prépare les données pour l'archivage et fait en sorte que les métadonnées correspondantes soient disponibles dans le catalogue de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse (Helveticat). Les sites web sont stockés avec leurs métadonnées dans l'archive à long terme. Dans cette archive, les informations stockées ne doivent pas être écrasées ou effacées. Les données sont sauvegardées par des backups qui sont stockés à deux emplacements différents à Berne. Grâce à une synchronisation automatisée des données, les données stockées aux deux emplacements sont complètes. A l'emplacement secondaire, une troisième copie des données est faite sur bande magnétique via un lecteur à bandes. Cette troisième copie est conservée séparément.
LA BIBLIOTHEQUE NATIONALE SUISSE HEBERGE-T-ELLE EGALEMENT MON SITE WEB?
Non, les exploitants de sites web sont toujours responsables de l'hébergement de leur site web. Le harvesting régulier permet juste de créer des enregistrements momentanés d'un site web qui sont archivés séparément et peuvent être utilisés à des fins scientifiques.

Utilisation

EST-CE QUE JE TROUVE MON SITE WEB DANS LE CATALOGUE HELVETICAT?
En même temps que l'archivage du site web, ce dernier est répertorié dans le catalogue Helveticat. Tous les sites web archivés sont catalogués et recherchables dans Helveticat. Un lien pointe directement sur les collections numériques (e-Helvetica Access). En revanche, les sites web ne sont pas répertoriés dans le Livre suisse, la bibliographie nationale de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse.
COMMENT PUIS-JE ACCEDER AUX SITES WEB ARCHIVES?
Les sites web archivés peuvent être recherchés et affichés dans e-Helvetica Access, le système d'accès aux collections numériques. Pour des raisons juridiques, l'accès aux archives web n'est possible que dans les locaux de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse et des bibliothèques partenaires.
QUELLE EST LA DIFFERENCE ENTRE HELVETICAT ET E-HELVETICA ACCESS?
Helveticat est le catalogue en ligne de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse. Il répertorie des publications imprimées ainsi que des publications électroniques.
e-Helvetica Access est le système d'accès pour les collections numériques de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse. Il répertorie non seulement des sites web, mais aussi des e-books, des e-journals, des thèses électroniques et des publications officielles électroniques. Il est également possible de consulter des œuvres imprimées qui ont été numérisées.
JE CHERCHE DES SITES WEB. COMMENT DOIS-JE RECHERCHER?
Vous pouvez rechercher des sites web non seulement dans le catalogue en ligne Helveticat, mais aussi dans e-Helvetica Access, le système d'accès aux collections numériques.
Dans Helveticat vous pouvez rechercher spécifiquement au moyen d'un code d'extraction, une URL, un Dewey ou selon la langue. Une explication détaillée se trouve dans le mode d'emploi pour la recherche de sites web. e-Helvetica Access propose une recherche particulière pour les sites web (Archives Web). Vous trouverez plus d'informations pour chacune des recherches au moyen des textes d'aide d'e-Helvetica Access (symbole de la bouée).
POURQUOI NE PUIS-JE PAS CONSULTER LE SITE WEB ARCHIVE DEPUIS CHEZ MOI?
La disponibilité des sites web dépend des conditions-cadres juridiques. Les sites web sont protégés par le droit d'auteur et ne peuvent être consultés que dans les salles publiques de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse.

SUIS-JE AUTORISE A IMPRIMER DES SITES WEB?
Pour des raisons de droit d'auteur, l'accès aux instantanés archivés est limité. Toute possibilité de reproduction ─ comme la sauvegarde, l'impression etc. ─ est donc bloquée.

POURQUOI LA BIBLIOTHEQUE NATIONALE SUISSE COLLECTIONNE-T-ELLE MON SITE WEB? IL Y A GOOGLE, NON?
La Bibliothèque nationale suisse a pour mandat légal de collectionner les publications électroniques ayant un lien avec la Suisse. Le but d'Archives Web Suisse n'est pas d'offrir un accès supplémentaire aux informations qui se trouvent actuellement sur votre site web, mais de documenter l'évolution des sites web au fil des années et des décennies. Par exemple, en 2025, on pourrait accéder à votre site web tel qu'il se présentait en 2015. A cet effet, nous collectons régulièrement une " copie " de tous les sites web sélectionnés. Ces copies permettent de retracer les modifications des sites web au fil des années.

DE QUELS AVANTAGES PROFITE MA COMMUNE SI NOTRE SITE WEB EST ARCHIVE PAR LA BIBLIOTHEQUE NATIONALE SUISSE?
Au vu de son mandat légal, la Bibliothèque nationale suisse s'est fixé pour objectif de constituer une collection sélective de sites web patrimoniaux de la Suisse. En acceptant que votre site web soit intégré aux Archives Web Suisse, vous contribuez à la mise sur pied d'une collection intéressante qui sert de base à la recherche historique. De plus, l'instantané de votre site web est archivé à long terme sans que cela ne vous demande d'investissement en temps de travail et en coûts. L'archivage des instantanés permet de retracer les modifications du contenu et de la présentation visuelle de votre site web.
Retour à la vue d’ensemble Sites web

Fin secteur de contenu

Recherche plein texte

Contacts

Bibliothèque nationale suisse
Coordination d’Archives Web Suisse
e-Helvetica
E Courriel


http://www.nb.admin.ch/nb_professionnel/01693/01695/01705/03333/index.html?lang=fr